Movie Review – Dawn Of The Dead (2004 Edition)

Posted: March 19, 2012 in Movies and TV
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The movie remake Dawn of The Dead revolves around a nurse who wakes up one day to discover that her whole world is now a nightmare.  Her husband and neighbors are now zombies and they are trying to kill her and every other normal human being they can find.  During her escape from her neighborhood, she joins up with other survivors and together they try to create a safe haven inside an enclosed shopping mall where they must not only survive the zombies; but must also survive themselves.

As zombies can only survive by feasting on the living, the film successfully demonstrates what people will do, in a fictional sense, when pushed to their limits of survival endurance.  This film is a must see for those who enjoy zombies and survival.

Comments
  1. mikereverb says:

    Definitely one of my favorite zombie remakes.

    I’ve watched it a few times, and I never get tired of it. It just has a great tone.

    Thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. Agreed – one of the best remakes/zombie films in general.

    • rmactsc says:

      I wouldn’t mind seeing a few more of the older zombie films re-made to the same quality level that Dawn of the Dead was.

      • Yep – but what I really can’t wait for is a mega-budget zombie film with epic sized battles. Think Braveheart – but with Zombies and an entire cities rag-tag defenders…..

  3. For me it was okay, not something I say often about remakes since the movie/television show usually ends up getting ruined in the retelling, but I still prefer the original.

  4. One of my faves………

  5. rmactsc says:

    Have a great weekend as well jennysserendipity 🙂

  6. I used to have this on DVD, but I let my cousin borrow it and it was never returned. It’s really awesome movie, and I liked it a lot. The original is one of my favorites.

    Also, have you ever read “I Am Legend” by Richard Matheson?

  7. rmactsc says:

    Dawn of The Dead is right up there on my list of favorites deathstalker2. I’ve never read I am Legend or saw the movie only because any movie where dogs get hurt I tend to skip.

Leave a Reply

