What Is Your Favorite Survival Fiction Book

Posted: April 3, 2012 in Quotes and Books
Tags: , , , , , , ,

There is nothing quite like a good survival fiction book to both stimulate the thought process and to visualize the all too familiar what if scenario.  I’ve read many of the popular and not so popular survival fiction books and I have to say my absolute favorite of them all is Lights Out by David Crawford.

Lights Out is the story of Mark Turner, his family and friends and the obstacles they must overcome when the lights go out over the entire country for an extended period of time.  I won’t give away the story line too much other than to say it is action packed, timely, has great character development and by the end of the book you feel as though you really know the characters.

The book is first rate in telling the story of people, banding together to deal with the harsh realities of life when the thin veneer of civilization is stripped away.  It’s a long book (I read the Kindle version) but I can definitely see reading it again in the future.

I’d like to know what is your favorite survival fiction book?

Comments
  1. My favorite “realistic” survival fiction thus far is “One Second After.” I love the grittiness of it, and it really looks beyond the immediate ramifications of a disaster. My favorites in the “unrealistic” category are “The Postman” and “Day by Day Armageddon.”

  2. rmactsc says:

    One Second After was a great book. I have not read the Postman yet but I did read and enjoy Day by Day Armageddon and the sequel Beyond Exile.

  3. I would have to say The Conqueror Worm by Brian Keene although I’m not sure you could call it survival fiction. It’s more of one elderly man’s journal of events that happen when it starts raining and never stops. A bit of a horror tale with the worms but he outlines his last days, the people he meets who are all trying to survive (But they fail) and they share their stories with him.

    • rmactsc says:

      Now that’s one book I’ve never heard of Cheryl. The premise sounds very interesting though; rain that never stops.

      • It is interesting but I think it is classified more as Scifi or horror but the story being told from this old man’s point of view and some of the things that he learns from other survivors tend to make me think of it as more survival fiction.

  4. It may be considered somewhat dated, but Alas, Babylon is probably my all time favorite. A more recent favorite is Two Journeys by Clemens P. Suter; it’s about a man from Germany who is in Japan on business when a pandemic occurs wiping out almost all of the earth’s population, once he begins to come to terms with what’s happened he starts to work his way back home to Germany. It was very different from a lot of the Post-Apocalyptic books that I’ve read.

    I’m really enjoying your blog! I love the mix of survival tips and book/movie reviews.

    • rmactsc says:

      Thank you for the kind words ageekcalleddamy. I appreciate it. Alas Babylon is next on my radar to read and I’ll have to look into Two Journeys.

  5. Tommy says:

    When my wife and I found this book, we stayed up many late nights reading chapter after chapter. It’s definitely MY favorite book.

Leave a Reply

