Four Rules Of Gun Safety

Posted: April 13, 2012 in Weapons
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Anytime a person handles a firearm, they need to be aware of the four rules of gun safety.  These rules are as follows.

  • Handle all weapons as if they are loaded.  Never assume a firearm is unloaded.  Every time you pick up a firearm you should visually and physically inspect the weapon twice to make sure the weapon is unloaded if it is not in use.
  • Never allow the muzzle to cross in front of anything you aren’t willing to destroy.  Always keep your weapon pointed in the safest possible direction.  You must control where the muzzle is pointed at all times.
  • Keep your finger off the trigger until your sights are on the target and you are ready to shoot.   Your trigger finger should be indexed against the frame of the weapon, not on the trigger until you have aquired your target and are ready to fire.
  • Be sure of your target and what is beyond and around your target.  Never shoot at an unidentified target.  Every bullet will hit something so make sure of your targets and what is in front of them, behind them and around them.

 

Comments
  1. My fifth rule of gun safety, is to ALWAYS be observant of your surroundings. If you see someone disobeying any of the four rules above, is to get the hell out of there. The last time I went to my local range, there were people who had no idea how to control their firearms. I saw that they were clueless and vacated the area quickly. I told the rangemaster they were dangerous and bugged the hell out.

    They ended up putting a hole in the ceiling because they were farting around with their fingers on the trigger before they were ready to put holes in paper.

    I love guns, but they’re unforgiving, and I never let myself forget that.

    No matter how safe you are with your guns, never underestimate the stupidity of the people around you.

    Great post.

  2. rmactsc says:

    Excellent comments Lord Brockington. I know when I go to the range I try to pay attention to the people around me as well to make sure there not pointing their muzzles in my or anyone else’s direction.

Leave a Reply

