Think About This The Next Time You Have To Decide Whether To Carry A Firearm

Posted: April 20, 2012 in Commentary
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

If you are going through the stages where you’re internally debating with yourself whether or not to carry a firearm, think about the following.

How would it make you feel if a criminal had total control; the power of life and death over you and your family with only the criminal having any say in whether you or your family lived or died.   Without having a firearm and a working knowledge of using that firearm to defend yourself and your family you would have absolutely no input into that scenario.  It is your right and your responsibility to protect yourself and your family.  Never forget that.

Comments
  1. Agreed! It is a very scary thing to have a family and not be able to protect them. Being defenseless can lead to scenarios like the family whose wife and daughters were raped and burnt alive, and the father was the only surviver. These are horrible situations that I wish no one would have to endure that kind of pain.

  2. rmactsc says:

    I agree makenzieinvolved. Thanks for commenting. I appreciate it. In this day and age being defenseless can have dire consequences.

  3. I have never fired a gun in my life, but I’ve been thinking about getting one. I live in Wisconsin where the right to conceal carry has recently been put into play. This post made the decision for me. The main problem to aquiring a hand gun is budgetory reasons — I’m very poor — I wish I got paid for the amount of work I do instead of the hours. What is the best handgun for personal protection and affordability?

    • rmactsc says:

      If you’re considering a handgun deathstalker2 make sure you get your pistol permit first then seek proper additional firearms training before making a handgun purchase. Training is key to being able to safely and properly use any firearm. For myself I prefer either a 9mm or a 45ACP caliber for defensive handgun use.

  4. Oh yes, I would of course get the permit first. When I do this, it’s going to be on the up and up. Have you ever had a situation arise where you had to use your handguns for personal protection? And thank you for the advice. I greatly enjoy your blog. I spent about 2 hours this morning reading it and sharing things with my girlfirend from it. I also posted a couple articles on my Facebook page.

  5. rmactsc says:

    Glad you’re enjoying the articles deathstalker2. I’ve carried a weapon for many, many years and I’ve been fortunate to never have to draw it in self defense. Part of that goes with my philosophy of maintaining situational awareness and not acting like a victim. Predators look for easy targets so if you maintain an attitude and apearance of being a hard target you will generally not be bothered.

  6. Grizz says:

    You’re EXACTLY right! Don’t cede responsibility for your own safety to someone else’s good will.

  7. rmactsc says:

    Thanks Grizz. I believe we are all ultimately responsible for our own safety and security.

  8. Ironically enough, I had a dream last night where I was shot by an assailant. It was very disturbing.

Leave a Reply

