Covering and Mis-Directing Your Tracks In The Snow (Survival Oriented)

Posted: May 10, 2012 in Tactics
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

There are times when covering and/or mis-directing your tracks in the snow will be essential to your survival.  Tracks can lead unwanted visitors to your location or away from your location so covering them or using misdirection can be a way to throw people off of your track.  The following are some methods to use which will assist you in this task.

  • Use a long branch with pine needles as a broom to effectively conceal and cover your tracks.
  • Walking during a heavy snowfall will ensure that your tracks are covered as long as the snow continues after you reach your destination.
  • When leaving your location walk backwards for a period of time as the tracks will appear to be leading to your location when in fact you are really moving away from it.  This can be used to mislead people into thinking you are at a particular location when you are not.

Comments
  1. Amanda J. says:

    When I lived in the German Alps, our only warning was to keep away from yellow snow !! lol

  2. rmactsc says:

    That’s good advice to follow Amanda 🙂 So it sounds like you are somewhat of a world traveler….you must have had some very interesting experiences.

    • Amanda J. says:

      Wellll, I have managed to get around to a few places, but not as many places as I’d like. Only Europe as of yet. The age I was in each place factors hugely into my experiences, like in the Alps – I was just 21 and sure life is not to be taken sooo seriously then, so it was a particularly fab experience. Also I found every single country to be sooo different – that is interesting in itself, and people are not the same everywhere, largely influenced by their histories and their standard of education. I hope to venture out into other continents in the coming years, and I’m expecting to find an even bigger contrast to what I know already, but being that much older now, I’m thinking I’ll see everything in a whole other way than I would have had I been there in my younger years. Have you been to Europe yet? Interesting to know the differences you see…

      Amanda 🙂

  3. rmactsc says:

    I’ve never been to Europe. I’ve been all over the United States and many trips to Bermuda but that is the extent of my travels. Sounds like your travel experiences would make a great book, question is who would play you in the movie version 🙂

  4. I live in Wisconsin, aka Narnia.

    This will be useful.

  5. :p Don’t hate on the Pack! I must admit though I’m not really a football fan. I’m more of a Brewers guy.

  6. Best not let the winter wolf prey read this or we’ll never track down wolf dinner when the Pack goes hunting!

Leave a Reply

