Hurricane Categories

Posted: May 24, 2012 in Survival
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Most people have probably heard the term hurricane categories but what do they really mean?  The following is a listing of hurricane categories and their meanings; so the next time you hear that a Category 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5 is approaching you will know what to expect.

  • Category 1 – Wind speed between 74 and 95 MPH.
  • Category 2 – Wind speed between 96 and 110 MPH.
  • Category 3 – Wind speed between 111 and 130 MPH.
  • Category 4 – Wind speed between 131 and 155 MPH.
  • Category 5 – Wind speed in excess of 155 MPH.

 

Comments
  1. Oh dear! I don’t think I like the sound of that very much! I would probably have a panic attack if I saw something like that photo, coming my way 😉 Scary stuff!

  2. rmactsc says:

    I’ve only been in one hurricane years ago when I took a business trip to Miami, FL. The locals were so relaxed about it, almost as though it was an everyday occurance that I actually found the experience very interesting.

Leave a Reply

