Best Fictional Survival Television Show

Posted: June 4, 2012 in Movies and TV
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

While there are many good fictional survival television shows, one in my opinion stands out above all the rest.

Wait for it…….

Wait for it…….

Wait for it…….

The winner, in my humble opinion,Β of the best survival fictional television show is………..

Falling Skies.

This show deals with the after effects of a global invasion by an alien race and a group of resistance fighters whoΒ battle the aliens to try and reclaim their section of the planet.

Comments
  1. Ben says:

    Jericho has been my favorite for awhile now, but I’ll definitely have to check this out.
    -Ben

  2. What about Family Ties?

  3. Must check this one out…Reckon I’d make a good resistance fighter and would thrive in this situtation πŸ˜‰ Hey! I can see that disbelieving smirk you’re trying to hide! lol πŸ˜€ Wouldn’t mind “testing my metal” in battle against alien invaders πŸ™‚ But who knows?…Maybe I already have!!!

    • rmactsc says:

      I have the Falling Skies Season 1 episodes downloaded on my Kindle Fire so I can watch them whenever the mood strikes me. You may be right, perhaps you already have πŸ™‚

      • It’s always good when someone humours me πŸ˜‰
        Haven’t got a Kindle Fire but there is a Kindle app on my Android phone… πŸ™‚ Don’t think the data allowance would take too well to the size d-loads though! Maybe I could watch Falling Skies on YOUR Kindle Fire!! lol πŸ˜‰

    • rmactsc says:

      You should definitely get the kindle fire if they have them on your side of the Atlantic. They are awesome. You can read books and magazines on them, listen to music, download games and apps and videos plus surf the net. When I first got mine I didn’t think I’d like it but it’s fast become a favorite piece of my electronics gear πŸ™‚

      • Yes…I would imagine it has πŸ™‚ Will have to look into Kindle fire availabilty over here but in the meantime if you’d like to leave yours on the side of your blog page for me I’ll pick it up on my next visit and drop it back to you when I’ve finished with it!!! πŸ™‚

      • rmactsc says:

        Sounds like a plan πŸ™‚

      • Did some checking around…The kindle fire hasn’t been released in the UK and isn’t available for delivery outside the US. No indications as to when it will be released either. I can buy a cover for my non-purchasable kindle fire though!! Some logic in that somewhere πŸ˜‰ Seen something similar by “Kobo” but think I’ll hold fire…oops πŸ˜€ till the Kindle fire itself shows up. If it does…I prefer to have choices … but yours will do very nicely for now thanks!!

      • rmactsc says:

        The Kindle Fires run about $189.00 over here and you can do email, surf the net, read books and magazines, download games, watch tv and movies, etc. Of course if you don’t have them over there I can sell you one for $189.00 plus 3 million dollars shipping and handling lol πŸ™‚

  4. phoebe53 says:

    Or you could watch it online at a site that mac won’t let me post. πŸ˜€

    What about Jeremiah mac? It’s a much more realistic series, no zombies.

    • rmactsc says:

      Hi Phoebe πŸ™‚ I’ve never seen the series Jeremiah; what’s the storyline?

      • phoebe53 says:

        Oh, you’re in for a treat.

        Plot Summary for
        “Jeremiah” (2002) More at IMDbPro Β»

        In a post-apocalyptic future, a deadly virus has wiped out most of humanity. The only ones who survived, were those who hadn’t yet reached puberty. Now a decade has gone by, and a man called Jeremiah is set on a quest to find a mysterious place his father spoke of, a place called Valhalla. Written by Fredrik Adolvsson

        15 years after a virus wiped out everyone who had passed puberty, the survivors are living on the scraps of the old world. Now they must either continue the downward slide, or begin to rebuild the world, taking responsibility for themselves and the world and each other. Written by Anonymous

        Jeremiah is set in a future post-apocalyptic world where, almost a decade before, a deadly virus wiped out the world’s adult population sparing only those who haven’t reached puberty. Now in their 20s, the oldest survivors of the pandemic include Jeremiah and the colorful but cynical Kurdy. Jeremiah is on a personal quest to relocate a mysterious place called Valhalla, which his father claimed might hold some hope for the survivors. As Jeremiah falls into a reluctant partnership with Kurdy, both explore new areas and encounter other groups of young adults who are divided into rival social groups. In the course of the season opener, Jeremiah’s smaller personal quest is redirected when he discovers a group of highly organized survivors who want to enlist him to orchestrate peace among the warring factions and to try and prevent the killer virus from returning.

      • rmactsc says:

        That sounds like an awesome series Phoebe. How many seasons did it run?

      • phoebe53 says:

        2 seasons and 35 episodes. This was worthy enough for me to buy the series DVD’s,

  5. phoebe53 says:

    …and the series actually ended with a conclusion, didn’t leave you hanging like some of the others do.

    • rmactsc says:

      I will have to check that series out. I’ve always been disappointed when a show goes off the air without bringing the series to a conclusion. Glad that you mentioned that this series did have a concluding episode.

      • phoebe53 says:

        The conclusion didn’t just appear because the show wasn’t picked up for another season, it actually flowed smoothly into it, you didn’t feel like they left parts out to get there.

  6. phoebe53 says:

    Be warned though, there are a few scenes that are a bit rank with some partial nudity and pretty strong adult situations.

  7. phoebe53 says:

    I watched a movie last night, “The Shelter”, it’s about a guy who has a normal family life, a job and friends who suddenly starts having nightmares and hallucinations about a catastrophic event, everyone thinks he’s crazy as he builds his shelter, but alas! Not that much of a prepper movie but it was pretty good.

    I know, it’s off topic since this thread about tv shows, just thought I’d throw it out there.

  8. CarolinaEst says:

    Where can i get the list for all, or some, of the fictional survival tv shows. I really like this genre but cant seem to find a list. I’ve seen Jericho a little of Falling sky’s, and for my surprise really liked the walking dead but I’ve run out of options that I know of. Pls help!

    • rmactsc says:

      Let’s see. My favorites are Falling Skies, Walking Dead, Jericho, and the British remake TV series Survivors. Other shows worth watching are Jeremiah, the remake of Battlestar Galactica and of course there are tons of movies in the post apocalyptic fiction genre πŸ™‚

  9. […] Best Fictional Survival Television Show | rmactsc – While there are many good fictional survival television shows, one in my opinion stands out above all the rest. Wait for it….. Wait for it….. Wait for it….. The winner, in my humble opinion, of the best survival fictional television show is….. Falling Skies. This show … […]

Leave a Reply

