Writers What Are You Working On These Days

Posted: June 5, 2012 in Writing
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Writers…..what are you working on these days?  Here is an opportunity for those of you who are working on a book or have already had one published to mention it here.  Think of it as an opportunity to promote what you have accomplished.  I’ll start.  Currently working on my first survival fiction novel and as of 6/6/12 I’ve written 83 pages.  Only a few hundred more to go until it’s complete.  Okay everyone else, what are you working on?

Comments
  1. Thank you for the opportunity to tout our projects here 🙂 I jfinished my ebook, The Truth About Simple Unhooked Living, and posted it at Smashwords.com in April. I am working on a YouTube Channel and Facebook page of the same name. Most recently, started a blog. Please visit the blog at http://simpleunhookedliving.wordpress.com/ and make suggestions or ask questions.

  2. rmactsc says:

    I visited your blog and your book sounds very interesting. If you’d like to arrange to send a copy my way I’d be happy to do a book review here for you.

  3. How fun! Good luck with your novel.

    • rmactsc says:

      Thanks Miss Kitty Roads. I appreciate it. Are you working on any writing projects at the moment?

      • 🙂 Yeah I have a few. I am participating in a blog hop on the 22nd of this month and I am working on getting my first novel to print so I can give a signed copy away. On my blog, I have an online fantasy novel I am posting as chapters are completed. And I always (as of late) have a project or two in rough draft form. Lol I am writing for Camp NaNo and the NaNoWriMo again.

      • rmactsc says:

        Sounds very exciting Miss Kity Roads. Looking forward to reading your work. Feel free to place a link to it here if you would like as well 🙂

  4. Elle Ringham says:

    Thanks for the opportunity! I’m working on a graphic novel series “Meet Violet Glass.” The first will be published this year. My blog has some excerpts… and Violet has a Twitter and Facebook page. Let me know how I can support your writings. 🙂

    • rmactsc says:

      Hi Elle. Your Graphic Novel series sounds very interesting. I’ll have to check it out. Feel free to place a link to your writings here if you’d like. I may take you up on your writing support when I actually finish the work. I anticipate at least another 6 months to completion, then the search for a publisher will begin 🙂

      • rmactsc says:

        Went on a bit of a writing spree and have now completed 104 pages of my book. Hopefully I can complete the project in another three to six months.

  5. phoebe53 says:

    The only writing I have ever done is speeches and letters to the editor, all of which have received standing ovations. I once wrote a letter to the editor and on the day it appeared in the paper I was scheduled to speak at a legislative hearing, I was late in arriving and when I walked thru the door, I got my first standing ovation, a committee member had just read the letter out loud, it was pretty kewl.:)

    I am mentioned in a book in which I edited the original draft for, Divided We Fall: The Story of the Paperworkers’ Union and the Future of Labor by Peter Kellman.

    Even though my views now are a far cry from that time, Peter is still a good friend of mine, I learned more from him than I learned in my short stretch in college.

    • rmactsc says:

      It sounds like you have a natural ability as a writer. Perhaps you might consider trying to write a fiction or non fiction book in the future. I try to do a few pages on mine each day. Currently up to 81 pages with only a few hundred more to go 🙂

  6. I’ve started a project with a friend reviewing and writing about firearms and other outdoor products, as well as interest pieces on the goings on in the firearms world. We have 3 articles up now, and 2 more in the works with some videos to come in the future as well. The first article we posted is up to somewhere around 550 views, and the manufacterer of the product has asked for permission to reprint it! http://doubletapoutdoors.wordpress.com

    I’ve also had some ideas for short stories or a book, and I’ve also thought creating a news related blog that sort of follow the style of Cracked.com., but I haven’t gotten around to officially getting those started yet.

  7. jokelly65 says:

    Im not even sure what to call what Im working on, LOL. it started as a fiction piece that could be loosely called fan fiction piece. in a nut shell, its a story about the zombie Apocalypse, with a supernatural angle, survival issues and skills and trying to look at it from a different perspective than usual. Im currently up to two books, over 1300 pages, and about ten short story spin offs around three hundred pages total. now Im concentrating on going back and correcting errors, and rewriting awkward sentences. hmmm not so much of a nut shell LOL.

  8. In an effort to get the word out about my Simple Unhooked Living book, I got an invite to write a guest blog for an environmental group. I got the idea from a headline on their blog that said something about wanting to give everything in nature the same rights as people. I replied with a comment that that was ironic, since people don’t even have the right to fend for ourselves in nature anymore. I thought it would be a good opportunity to let the green community know that the best solution to planetary ruination – living a simple self-reliant life close to nature, has become illegal in a lot of places these days. I believe we’ve reached the point where it is illegal to simply live without jumping through a bunch of authoritarian hoops. Well, it didn’t work out. I submitted my story, but the editor changed it so much it didn’t ring true anymore. When I complained. they wanted me to iron out the problems the editor created. Plus they wanted me to do a bunch of research on codes to back up my allegations that self-reliant simple living is illegal, which I didn’t want to do because of the time involved. I’d already spent a few days perfecting the article. Plus I had to lug my deep cycle battery to a rat infested abandoned cabin on our property, where there is power, to charge it up. They ended up calling me unprofessional and uncooperative. So that all is not lost, I went through the article this morning, rewriting and editing. Now I will look for someplace to share it. (Thanks for letting me vent:-))

    • rmactsc says:

      Sometimes when you write an article for a group they may be looking more to push an agenda then to fairly read and publish an article. Don’t worry. Write articles the way you want and if they try and change it too much that it no longer looks like your work, walk away. After all someone elses opinion of your work is only their opinion. Have confidence in your writing skills and believe in yourself and in your abilities 🙂

Leave a Reply

