Will The World Come To An End Anytime Soon

Posted: June 7, 2012 in Commentary
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Will the world come to an end anytime soon?  A discussion that many have had around the fireplace or the dinner table or when sitting out on the backyard deck.  As for me I believe it’s important to be prepared in case it does but my feeling is that the world will not end anytime soon.

Sure there will be unemployment, recession, political and social upheaval, wars, decaying of societies but such is the normal ebb and flow of the world and the events which shape it.  So what do you think.  Will the world come to an end anytime soon.  Lets hear your opinions on the matter.

Comments
  1. phoebe53 says:

    Nope, we’re going to have to go thru a world of hurt first. The only way to be prepared for the actual end of the world is spiritually.

  2. rmactsc says:

    Spiritually, mentally and physically will all be important methods of preparation 🙂

    • phoebe53 says:

      Why mentally and physically, it’s the end of the world?

      • rmactsc says:

        I see the end of the world as complete societal collapse when and if it ever occurs, not the physical destruction of the planet but more the societal destruction such as you see in the movies The Road, or The Book of Eli or Carriers, etc. To survive you must be spiritually, mentally and physically prepared.

  3. everythinghk says:

    The world as we know it will come to an end soon. Basically there will be an economic collapase of the world economy and a long term depression. World governments will continue to pump money into their economies without the revenues in place to pay for them. Ephemeralization will make the world seem over populated as technology will replace the the need for many workers. Thus when the world bankruptcy finally happens the only thing left to prevent mass starvation and years of misery will be population reduction. Thus WW3. If you stop an think about the military forces hanging out int he middle east right now, the arab spring, Iran , etc etc all the tinder is there to have this happen very soon.

    • rmactsc says:

      Very interesting analysis everythinghk. Yet another series of reasons why it is important to be a prepper and prepare accordingly, just in case 🙂

      • everythinghk says:

        I’ve had a lot of thought about prepping lately and did an article on this in my blog that you will find interesting.

        There is a lot more to prepping than meets the eye and the skill set you need is vast. Especially if you live near or in large Urban population centers.

        The biggest pain starting to prep is the cost of prepping in a weak economy.

        I know it’s gonna hit the fan soon and I can;t prep fast enough

  4. rmactsc says:

    I’ve been prepping for many years and once you get used to doing it everything tends to stockpile quickly so it pays to be neat and organized. A three months supply of food and water for each member of your family plus pets is a good start along with sufficient guns and ammo and training for defensive purposes and well placed and prepared bug out bags. I just subscribed to your blog so I will check out the articles 🙂

  5. phoebe53 says:

    I’ve been prepping since ’99, people thought I was insane then and still do.

    I’ve pretty much given up on prepping now since no one around me, all the people that I was prepping for, don’t care, I’ve been prepping for them since I probably won’t be around when tshtf for real. I’ve done all I can do with no help, there’s plenty of food that should hold them a few months and other preps that if they have any ambition and ingenuity at all, can use.

    Kids don’t care, they think I’m looney tunes. DH doesn’t think I’m looney tunes but doesn’t think anything will happen but doesn’t interfere but doesn’t help that much either, his idea of helping is carrying the supplies in the house but can’t seem to acquire any interest in hooking up one freakin’ solar panel. I keep trying to explain to him that I need that little bit of power for a medical machine I use and it would be nice to have when the power goes out because of a storm, doesn’t seem to phase him. Don’t get me started, I’m massively and manically depressed today, I’ll stop talking and griping now, except to say I’m done with prepping, have done all I can do.

    • rmactsc says:

      Here’s my take on this. You cannot change people philosophically and you can’t make people do what they don’t want to do therefore, consider prepping as your hobby and get enjoyment from that and who cares what people think, only what you think of yourself is important 🙂

      • phoebe53 says:

        It’s not a matter of what others think, I could give a crap about that, it’s that no one else cares. It’s not a hobby, I have far more interesting and fun hobbies that I could be spending my money on. As the saying goes, I can only give a crap about one person a day and today it’s me. 😀

  6. FullOfSMyLES says:

    That’s a topic of conversation you have around the dinner table? This has come up in conversation, but I think I try and quickly change the subject to avoid learning about things I may not know. I will admit this Mayan calendar thing is a little scary…

  7. Re the Mayan Calender comment above – “It is a good idea to prepare for any potential cataclysmic events in the future, but living in fear is not. The Mayans never said that 2012 will be the end of time. This date is not an end of time… but the initiation of a new paradigm.” (Excerpt from a half-finished blog post I had in mind…) No-one knows the day or the hour and time can stretch itself out in strange ways that we do not always perceive as time. We created time by calenders. The planet and it’s events did not. Our understanding of time is based purely on our own perceptions and limited human understandings. Therefore no one can truly and accurately predict when the end times will come. People who mock the idea of prep’ing for the end of the world are the ones who are too afraid to face the possiblity it could happen, and anyone who does prep’ is bound to seem like a threat to their sense of false security. Perhaps we should pity them rather than let them get under our skin and create negativity in our lives. 🙂

  8. Go check out some thoughts and articles by Steve Quayle, it will blow your mind.

Leave a Reply

