Test Your Gear Before Disaster Strikes

Posted: June 12, 2012 in Survival
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Just a quick post this morning, reminding you to check out your survival gear before a disaster strikes, not afterwards.  Make sure your Bug Out Bag is well built, properly packed and will withstand harsh environments.  Make sure your weapons are properly zeroed for defensive purposes.  An improperly zeroed weapon will basically mean your point of aim will not equal your point of impact.

Make sure you have a sufficient quantity of food, water, ammo, first aid gear, fuel, clothes, etc.  Is your survival location secure, are your primary and secondary vehicles fully fueled and in prime working order?  Can you build an emergency shelter or start an emergency fire to keep warm?  Check now, don’t wait for an impending disaster. 

Know your abilities; learn all the survival related things that you can.  Know your strengths and weaknesses and make sure you have a good survival plan and a good alternate survival plan.  You must be adaptable to ever changing situations.  Now get out there and test that field gear.

Comments
  1. FullOfSMyLES says:

    I think you should make me a BOG. I read your posts and they’re so useful, but I find myself severely unprepared. yikes!

  2. If a watery disaster of the likes that photo depicts is anything to go off, this Icewolf would be running in the opposite direction for all she was worth in a blind panic lol all survival training forgotten! I have more than a slight phobia re watery, drowny, swimmy things (but yes I do shower lol so no I don’t smell!! 😉 ) A waterproof, drownproof,need to swim when can’t-proof emergency survivall shelter is needed for Icewolf! See you on Europa! The water is safely miles under the ice there 🙂

  3. phoebe53 says:

    I live just far enough from the ocean that the water will stop just short of me and I will finally have my oceanfront property.

Leave a Reply

