Just Had To Get Another Home Defense Shotgun

Posted: June 25, 2012 in Weapons
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

While visiting the local gunstore this weekend I just couldn’t pass up the opportunity to add yet another home defense shotgun to my collection.  I saw it, wanted it, tried it and knew I had to have it.  This time around it was the Mossberg 590A1, 12 gauge pump action shotgun which varies in some ways from the Mossberg 590 I already own.  Note the 590A1 and the 590 are two different models.

The 590A1 is heavy and was designed specifically for the military who wanted a heavier, reliable shotgun that could withstand some bumps and dings and could function well in adverse weather conditions.  The barrel is a heavy walled 20 inch barrel,  has a metal trigger assembly and metal safety button, has an 8+1 shot magazine tube, a ghost ring rear sight and an orange quick acquisition front sight and cycles quickly and effortlessly between rounds. 

I added a quality Outdoor Connections carry strap, an ATI flashlight clamp which secures a Surefire G2 flashlight and an ATI sidesaddle to the buttstock for carrying additional rounds. The weapon is reliable and is a welcome addition to my home defense setup.

Comments
  1. Well of course you had to have it! Perfectly understandable and not at all surprising 😉 Im the same when it comes to mobile phones…I see…I want…I have to have!! All makes very good sense doesn’t it? lol 😉 I wonder if they’ve developed a gun app yet…I quite like the idea of my mobile being armed and dangerous!!

Leave a Reply

