Concealed Carry Considerations

Posted: July 23, 2012 in Tactics
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

If you are considering carrying a concealed handgun the following factors need to be reviewed.

  • Make sure you have the proper permit to do so.  If not, obtain one.
  • Seek proper training and go to your local range and practice, practice, practice.
  • Ask yourself if you are willing to use deadly force to protect your life and your families lives when no other recourse is available.
  • Make sure you properly understand the laws relating to the use of deadly force for your state and country.
  • Are you willing to adapt your style and manner of attire to properly conceal a weapon.  After all concealed means concealed.
  • Have you selected and trained with the best handgun and caliber for your personal, defensive situation.
  • Is your personality and temperment suitable for carrying a concealed weapon.

A concealed firearm when properly carried and with proper training and the proper mindset can provide peace of mind and can be a life saver if it is ever needed in that capacity.

Comments
  1. phoebe53 says:

    Hi Mac

    I’ve always been short tempered but I find I’m not so quick to confront idiots as I was prior to getting my concealed permit. A couple of people have joked (maybe not joking) that I, above most others, should not have one because of my temper but I remind them that I’ve been carrying in one manner or another for 30 years and haven’t shot anyone yet. I did shoot at a neighbors roosters a couple of times, 😀 in all fairness to me, they WERE on MY property and a Lt. on the police force told me to.

    The most challenging part for me, as a woman, is carrying on me in the warmer months, right now it’s in my purse and I hate that, this winter it will be on my person.

  2. rmactsc says:

    Those must have been those specially trained attack roosters 🙂

  3. phoebe53 says:

    They were!!!! Roosters in attack helicopters!!! Seriously, have you ever lived next door to a hundred fighter roosters? I finally ended up suing them, they settled the night before we went to court.

    They used to let their cows run wild over my lawn too, mooing outside my bedroom window at one in the morning wasn’t very pleasing, it finally stopped when I told them “the next time I see a cow in my yard, I’m filling my freezer”.

    They also put their driveway on my property when I wasn’t home and refused to move it even when the original surveyor told them it was own my property. Neighbors from hell!! I sold at a pretty good profit and live far away from them now.

  4. Well I do know the laws of the land on this subject…NO! You can’t have one! You can’t use one! And if you’re stupid enough to try we’ll bang you up! And if you’re about to be raped just roll over and take it cos no-one’ll believe you anyway….THAT is why I have a trained Personal Protection Dog. Wonder how long before they bring in a law banning that too.

  5. rmactsc says:

    Perhaps the laws will change across the pond one day. I tried to read your response imagining you speaking your comments with a British accent. I must admit British accents are very cool 🙂

Leave a Reply

