Things To Remember About Your Home Defense Firearms

Posted: August 28, 2012 in Weapons
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Owning  firearms for home defense is a responsibility that one should not take lightly.  Here are a few things to remember about your home defense firearms.

  • Make sure you are properly trained on the use of your home defense firearms.  Make sure you are proficient on loading, unloading, clearing malfunctions, acquiring your target and go to the range regularly and practice, practice, practice.
  • Along with range time mentally visualize the process for loading, unloading, clearing malfunctions and aquiring your target.  Visualization is an important aspect of training.
  • Make sure you are properly licensed as needed.
  • Never ever under any circumstances leave a loaded firearm unattended.
  • Store your bulk ammo and your firearms in seperate locations. 
  • Keep your firearms secure and well hidden when not in use.
  • This point will raise debate as many people keep their home defense handgun loaded and on their nightstand when they go to bed.  I do not.  My preferred method when I go to bed is to unload my EDC handgun, verifying that the chamber is empty and keep the full magazine on my nightstand next to the bed.  I keep my unloaded handgun is in a holster attached to the bedframe just below the nightstand out of sight.  I can, if awoken slap the loaded magazine into the handgun and have a round chambered in about 3 seconds……….I know I’ve practiced this frequently. 
  • My home defense firearms are divided into three categories.  Handguns for home defense against an intruder.  Shotguns for home defense against multiple intruders.  Rifles for home defense in the event of looting or rioting.
  • Be safe, be careful and have the proper mindset when handling any type of firearm.

Comments
  1. chrissyk3 says:

    I like the detail of your post, and while I have my views about keeping firearms around in general, I do appreciate the fact that you’ve laid out how to have and use them safely. My question to you is, how come you have to be so minutely prepared in the event of an attack? How often have you been attacked, and how often do you think it will happen to you in your lifetime?

  2. rmactsc says:

    Thanks chrissyk3. Now to answer your specific questions. Preparation in life is the key to success so being prepared in all things you do is essential. I have never been attacked and the reason I suspect is because I am well prepared. I don’t have a crystal ball so I can’t speculate on how often it could happen but as they say better to be prepared and not need your preparations then to be unprepared and need them 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Justin Johnson BG and commented:
    There is some solid advice here!

  4. I believe I would have an excellent mindset if I was armed in such a way…shoot to kill! However in the absence of a legally owned firearm that I would be allowed to use in such circumstances, I find a heavy duty freshly sharpened kitchen knife of suitably large proportions tucked cosily under the pillow provides a similar reassurance etc as a firearm in the hour of need…and it’s silent and it doesn’t need loading 🙂 It would also probably end me up behind bars but hey! Better than being carried off in a wooden box isn’t it?!!

Leave a Reply

