Molle Gear Just in Case

Posted: September 7, 2012 in Equipment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

There are certain pieces of Molle gear that every prepper should have in case the SHTF and you are on your own or need to protect your family when the thin veneer of civilization has fallen by the wayside.  Yes there is Molle gear that can be used on a regular basis but I’d like to focus on some pieces of Molle gear that should be ready to go; but never ever used unless the ultimate SHTF scenario occurs.  This gear should be maintained and ready to go but otherwise never used unless the SHTF.

  • Tactical vest or load bearing vest specifically set up to accomodate your pistol and rifle magazines.  (Should as an example hold 6 – 30 round AR-15 magazines, your handgun and 3 handgun magazines along with a flashlight, first aid kit, knife, water bottle with holder, etc.
  • Seperate tactical vest or load bearing vest specifically set up to accomodate shotgun shells only.  Should be able to accomodate 100 or so 12 gauge 2 3/4 inch 00 buckshot shells as well as a first aid kit, knife, water bottle with holder, etc.  As my flashlight is mounted to my shotguns I do not keep a seperate flashlight with this vest.

Am I hopeful that I will never ever have to use this gear…….yes, but if the ultimate SHTF situation occurs and I need to defend myself, my family, my property, etc., from imminent, immediate danger, the vests are already geared up and ready to go.  As they say; better to be safe then sorry. 

Below is my shotgun tactical vest prior to weaving the Molle pouches through the PALS webbing.  The vest as shown below allows you to configure your pouches (in this case shotgun pouches not shown) into whatever configuration I might require.

Leave a Reply

