What Do I Keep In and On My Alice/Malice Bug Out Bag

Posted: September 18, 2012 in Equipment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

For most SHTF scenarios I anticipate bugging in rather than bugging out.  However it is still essential to have a bug out bag packed and ready to go.  So with that said, what gear do I keep in my bug out bag.  The following in no particular order is a list of my Alice/Malice pack bug out bag gear.

  • 3 pairs of socks
  • 3 pairs of underwear
  • 3 Tee shirts
  • 3 long sleeve shirts
  • 1 sweatshirt
  • 1 Pair of Pants with Belt
  • 5 pairs of lightweight work gloves
  • 1 pair of shooting gloves
  • 1 pair of winter gloves
  • 1 Raincoat
  • 1 Boonie Hat
  • 1 Winter hat
  • 1 Complete First Aid Kit including Medicine
  • 2 Bottles of Hand Sanitizer
  • 2 Small compressed rolls of Toilet Paper
  • 9 Eyeglass Wipes
  • 1 Eyeglass Case
  • 1 Compass
  • 1 Fixed Blade Knife with Sheath
  • 1 Pistol Holster
  • 1 Pistol
  • 1 Mag Pouch with 3 slots
  • 3 Mags
  • Spare Ammo
  • 1 Flashlight 80 Lumens
  • 6 replacement flashlight batteries
  • 3 packs of waterproof matches
  • 1 Firestarter
  • 2 Removable Canteen Straps
  • 2 Canteens in Canteen pouches with water
  • 1 Metal Water Bottle with Molle bottle holder
  • 120 Peanut Butter Crackers
  • Vitamins
  • 2 Bottles of Water Purification Tablets
  • 1 Water purification filter with straw
  • 4 Packages of Iodine Tablets to protect against radiation
  • 1 Adhesive Radiation Detector
  • Binoculars
  • 1 Portable Radio
  • 4 replacement radio batteries
  • 1 Bandana
  • Petty Cash
  • 550 Paracord
  • 1 Roll of Cloth Tape
  • 5 Snap Straps
  • 4 Compression Straps
  • 1 Sleeping Bag with Stuff Sack 
  • 5 Mylar Emergency Blankets
  • 1 Fork and Spoon Set
  • 1 Can Opener
  • 1 Bottle Opener
  • 1 Signal Mirror
  • 1 Pocket Knife

Comments
  1. highdesertlivin says:

    A s I have a larger ,expedition type pack I carry a little bit more.In addition to the items your carrying, I have :AR7 .22,katadyn water filter (1 gallon gravity type) 10 0zs of silver, stainless water bottle,lifeboat matches,50 rds 9mm,200 rds .22, stainless mess kit ,6 mountain house main entrees,4 contractor bags, coffe filters,3bics,leatherman,bag of hard candies,spare glasses,some other items, I cant remember. In addition my vehicle, and take in w/ me when home is a small pelican box/man purse w/; s&w 340 ti hammerles 357 w/130 gr.+p , speed loader (my common concealed carry) as well as a glock 17 ,spark striker and steel, bic,stream light tac.,spderco cricket,swiss multi plier, 7x monocular, 1/10 gold eagle. a work in progress. thanks for the read, highdesert livin out.

    • rmactsc says:

      That sounds like an excellent load out highdesertlivin. A few items I’ve been meaning to add to my bug out bag will include a set of small binoculars and a water filter although I’m used to using the water purification tablets but a water filter system would be an asset as well 🙂

  2. Tina says:

    Everytime I come here – I feel, ummm … less prepared than you !

    • rmactsc says:

      It is all a gradual progression Tina 🙂 Start with a backpack you like as your bugout bag and everyday just put one thing in it, that way there is no stress and no pressure and eventually you will have a complete pack. Your husband and kids can do the same with theres. It might even be fun to do just one item a day 🙂

      • Tina says:

        Yeah – I really like that idea. I took my kids to the store to build a pack just for our cellar, I couldn’t find what I wanted, what they had looked cheap and unreliable – – – and the 4 kids were climbing the walls. We walked out with 1 lantern. Last year my husband was in Africa – so I constantly had it in my mind that “I” need to be prepared for me and the kids. Now my husband is in country – but still far from home if the SHTF ! But I could handle 1 thing a day – or 1 item each time we go out – that makes it way less stressful 🙂 Thanks for the tip – surprised I couldn’t think of that myself !!

      • rmactsc says:

        You’re welcome Tina 🙂 If you have a military surplus store in your area check there for packs. They usually have good quality surplus military gear such as Alice Packs, Molle Packs, etc., that are usually reasonably priced and half the fun is configuring them the way you want as there are so many different ways to set them up.

  3. I will take a few hints from your list 🙂 I might need to downscale the kitchen sink though 😉 Maybe modernise it and replace the existing stone age one that has been thrashing around in preparation for the next apocalypse…good ole bug out bag 🙂

    • rmactsc says:

      I look forward to seeing your final bug out bag list europasicewolf; cosmetics and all 🙂

      • Missed this one…must have been too busy trying to make one extra little corner of space in my bug out bag 😉 How much spare time do you have?…it’s a very long list 😀 …very very long 😉 A SHTF situation might occur several times over whilst you’re ploughing your way through it!

      • rmactsc says:

        Too busy to read my posts……..how can that be lol 🙂 Actually when I first put the bag together I added one item everyday until I had them all. I’ve memorized what’s in every pouch so I know where everything is and it is located right next to my desk so while I work to earn that paycheck, the bag is right there.

  4. rmactsc says:

    I have added a few additional items today to my bug out bag so the list contained in this article has now been expanded.

  5. screenshot says:

    Reblogged this on Ready For Anything Preparedness Store and commented:
    See also our pages on creating your own bug out bag and on how to make a simple small personal pocket sized “preparedness survival kit.”

  6. rmactsc says:

    I have revised my bug out bag list by adding a few more items which are now listed in the article.

Leave a Reply

