Preparing for and Surviving Disasters

Posted: September 19, 2012 in Survival
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Preperation is so important to your chances of surviving a disaster that I wanted to share the following key points with my readers.

  • Wherever you currently reside, if you look around; you most likely already have the essential elements for survival; food, water and shelter.  Review what you have and stock up on more of these items to get you through your anticipated disaster scenario.
  • Disaster scenarios can be temporary such as hurricanes or floods, long term such as social unrest or political upheaval or permanent such as a nuclear disaster.
  • The danger increases and your survival chances decrease if you are unprepared for a situation.
  • Prepare for the disaster scenarios that are most likely to occur in your given area.
  • Ameneties we are used to having may not be available if disaster strikes; so plan accordingly.
  • Whenver possible and safe to do so it is better to shelter in place, in your home then to leave. 
  • Never become a refugee as that opens you up to a myrad of potentially new dangers.
  • Proper mindset and decision making skills are essential.

Comments
  1. 1stminstrel says:

    Good points contained in the article…..

  2. re: Potentially becoming a refugee when disaster strikes if not at home. This has been on my mind a lot as I temporarily have a job on the road. Everything I need for work (and my other business) has to fit into my tiny car. My practice is to always have survival supplies in my car as well, so this is becoming quite the challenge.

    • rmactsc says:

      If you can, you might want to look into getting a used SUV as the larger size and storage capacity makes it convenient for carrying essential gear as well as additional people if needed 🙂

  3. You’d definitely want to be prepared if THAT disaster pictured here was coming your way! Oh Wolf!! I hope I never find myself facing something like that I think all sense would leave me!! I do keep a supply of vitally important stuff stashed at my workplace (locked up) partly in case of fire at the home, partly in case of my home becoming suddenly inaccessible (has happened before) like my passport – finally got the new one, a spare mobile and charger, and a netbook in case anything happens to my laptops – house is shared so you never know what dodgy characters are going to move in – I keep most of my important paperwork there too – has proved very useful in times of personal disaster and it’s safer there. In fact I have a very large and impressive stash for emergencies…just so long as I don’t lose the key!! 😉

Leave a Reply

