Do you have a semi automatic rifle or handgun that malfunctions from time to time where the shell casing does not eject after firing and then prevents the follow up round from loading?  Try the following.  When you load your mags place one less round in the mag then they are capable of holding.  As examples my AR-15 rifle has  detachable mags that holds 30 rounds but I always load them with only 29 rounds each.  My Smith & Wesson M&P 45 handgun has detachable mags that hold 10 rounds but  I always load them with only 9 rounds each.  In many cases this will fix feeding malfunctions.

Comments
  1. iamrising says:

    Well that just logged itself into the permanent memory banks. Why is that, though?

  2. rmactsc says:

    Sometimes fully loading the mags over compresses the springs in the mag which forces them to move upwards slightly faster than intended. Loading one round under the mags maximum holding capacity puts less tension on the mag springs resulting in fewer malfunctions.

  3. nvchad2 says:

    Excellent advice. I’ve always loaded my 30 round Mini-14 mag with 28 or 29 rounds. My pistol holds 10 but I only load 9. It’s a good habit to get into and I’ve never had a problem with ejection, even in aftermarket mags.

Leave a Reply

