Why Being Armed for Self Defense is so Important

Posted: October 8, 2012 in Survival
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Why is being properly armed and properly trained so important when it comes to your own safety and self defense?  I could list dozens of reasons but as a matter of practical application I will only list one.  According to crime statistics violent crime in the United States averages 100,000 incidents per month from July through September and 85,000 incidents per month from October through June.  With the large number of violent crimes present day and with thugs and criminals being more vicious then ever, it is prudent and imperative to be properly armed and properly trained as the first line of defense when dangerous criminals decide to attack.

Comments
  1. In both the area in which I live, as well as my hometown 90 miles away, violent crime has exploded. There have been near weekly reports of armed home invasions, and record numbers of burglaries. It took some convincing, but I was able to talk my wife into being comfortable with my M and P being in a biometric quick safe on the night stand instead of in the gun cabinet. A lot sounder sleep, I can tell you.

    Could you do a piece on selecting home defense rounds for different situations? Homes in my area are densely packed, so over penetration is definitely a factor. What are my best options? Frangibles? I am loaded with hydro shocks at the moment, but worry about missing…

    • rmactsc says:

      I’ll write a piece on home defense rounds in the next few days for you Lord Brockington. For myself I keep the following two weapons by my bedside at night. Mossberg 590A1 12 gauge pump action shotgun using 2 3/4″ 00 buckshot and also my Smith & Wesson M&P 45 handgun using either full metal jacket or hollow point ammo. The homes in my suburban neighborhood are reasonably spaced out so I don’t feel over penetration to a neighboring home would be an issue. Over penetration from room to room in my house would be an issue so I have spent time analyzing in a potential home defense scenario knowing exactly what is behind each and every interior wall within my home and knowing which angles of fire are safe and which are not..

  2. Interestingly in light of this post our laws are set to change re defending yourself and your loved ones in the event of a burglary etc. We should actually be allowed to defend ourselves and our homes without getting banged up for it so long as we are acting…shooting (chance burglars take according to a judge with his head screwed on the right way) etc because we are/would be VICTIMS of crime!! I guess it’s a case of we are victims in the eyes of the law all of a sudden, and anything but victims in our own eyes if we are not to develop the new problem of victim mentality! Oh wolf! Life is so complicated sometimes!! 😀

    • rmactsc says:

      So if I understand you correctly they will be changing the laws to allow you to defend yourselves in the event of a home invasion where your life is in danger? If that is the case the officials over there must finally be reading my blog lol 🙂

      • europasicewolf says:

        That would appear to be the case and tougher punishments for the criminals…who shouldn’t be the defenders of their properties etc theoretically. Funny how they usually get community sentences whilst the defending homeowners get banged up though! The officials are hopefully reading your blog…and won’t mind in the least if I buy a very large gun…not to worry about the gun license lol 😉

  3. “…as we are acting…shooting (chance burglars take according to a judge with his head screwed on the right way) etc…” ….honestly and instinctively in self defence…is what it should have read!

  4. Tina says:

    I don’t understand why anyone would NOT want to defend themselves. I think you are American if I’m not mistaken. In Canada, I think we have a healthy perspective on weapons in rural areas, but people still only seem to use their gun in hunting or range scenarios. I hear countless stories of intruders KILLING the home owners. I for one, had to call 911 during a break and entry – and my God – by the time the cops got there, the front security door was shattered and the *ss h*le was working on breaking down my front entrance door … thank gawd the bolts held – I was only 19 or 20 at the time, but I had no idea how to defend myself had that man come charging in – besides the cutlery drawer – or jumping out the window a few stories up with a small child. That’s not the only time someone illegally entered my place. One time, I was fortunate enough to be out of town, and my landlord reported a male exiting my bedroom window – arms full of MY GROCERIES for crying out loud. Another time, as a teen, I rented a basement suite, and the unit above me (in the house) had an intruder – only a mindless attempt by an addict to find shelter, but still … rough areas call for more aggressive measures of defense. (that’s my small book reply!)

    • Tina says:

      Never mind ROUGH AREAS – any home – in suburbia or the ghetto …

      • rmactsc says:

        You are right Tina. Any home regardless of area can be a target for a potential criminal which is why proper weapons training and practice and armed self defense is so important.

    • rmactsc says:

      Glad you are okay Tina. Sounds like some scary moments. Eurpoasicewolf is from England so they are severely restricted on weapons they can have over there which is why she should move to the states 🙂

      • Tina says:

        Canada has me pretty confuzzled these days over laws, changing laws, licenses, prohibited weapons policies … etc … I don’t know who is in charge – but I doubt they own or use a weapon – because our rules make little sense. Southerners seem to have alot more rights in terms of owning and using your weapons.

Leave a Reply

