I’m going to deviate from my usual survival and preparedness topics for just a moment to address something a reader had emailed me about and asked me to comment on; in a blog post regarding life in general and what I felt was the best way to achieve what it is that you want from life.  With the readers permission already obtained, this was my reply to them.

You can achieve whatever you want from life if you have the right attitude, a willingness to work for it, confidence, positive thinking, not reacting or giving up every time an obstacle or a criticism comes your way and a belief in yourself and your abilities.

I try to remind my children of this; well they are not really children anymore.  My son is in his junior year of college studying accounting and my daughter will be starting college next year studying allied health and they are probably tired of hearing me emphasize the above points but they are so very true.

You can achieve what you want in life, love, education, job, etc., if you approach what you want the right way.  People will often see you how you see yourself, so if you believe in yourself others will also.  Opportunities will start presenting themselves to you if you take the time to find them.  Time goes by so quickly so do not waste another moment wondering what if?  Go out, starting today and work towards achieving what you want.  You can do it.

Comments
  1. torvalamnell says:

    Reblogged this on Just Another Zombie Dad and commented:
    Great outlook and too often people don’t want to give it a shot. Negativity breds negativity. The same can be said for positive thinking and outlooks.

  2. rmactsc says:

    Thanks. I find it is easier to navigate through life with a positive attitude then with a negative one. Thanks for reblogging as well 🙂

  3. Iam Rising says:

    Like attracts like, be grateful in advance, and do it like you mean it.

    I like to temper my positive attitude with my negative one, or either will get the better of me. Usually, my positive attitude is NOT realistic, and my negative attitude IS realistic, and honestly, I’m not sure either of them ever has the right idea! 🙂

    • rmactsc says:

      Why do you feel your positive attitude is not realistic IamRising? Your statement is intriguing?

      • Iam Rising says:

        My positive limit gets so, “OF COURSE all things are possible!” it starts to think its will alone is enough to accomplish its aims. So, I have to manually hammer it into shape with some negative, “Not if A, Not if B!” to keep it from missing the major checkpoints along the way. Otherwise, I end up *reeeeeealllllly* out of touch, lost in space, and the come down is *veeeeeerrrry* disturbing!

        Did I actually explain myself or just rephrase the same thing? 🙂

      • rmactsc says:

        That was the best rephrase I have ever heard 🙂 You have a career in politics ahead of you lol 🙂

  4. thatoldschoolgirl says:

    Well said. Do you have any suggestions for dealing with co-workers that think you are wrong/stupid/nuts for following your beliefs and bully you because of it?

    • rmactsc says:

      Thanks. Here’s my advice. If you are being bullied because of your beliefs it is usually because they think they can get away with it. Nothing stops bullying faster than showing a bully that you will stand up for yourself. In the workplace, projecting an image that their comments don’t phase you is effective or coming back with a witty response will quickly rally people to your side. Good luck 🙂

  5. Holli says:

    This just feels like a different kind of survival and preparedness. It’s all necessary. If you have an emergency, but the poorest of attitudes, how can one even implement the knowledge you may have? If you have a goal, how can you achieve it without all the preparedness that comes before setting out? Thank you for this lovely, uplifting post. I needed that today. 🙂

Leave a Reply

