What Makes The AR-15 Such An Excellent Rifle

Posted: October 26, 2012 in Weapons
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What makes the AR-15 rifle such an excellent rifle?  Allow me to point out some of the reasons that if the SHTF this would be my go to rifle.

  • For those coming out of the armed forces, this rifle, operationally will feel very familiar.
  • The 556/223 cartridge is an effective, all around, anti-personnel round with good penetration capabilities at close quarter battle ranges.
  • Ammo is currently readily available.
  • For those properly trained in its use; it is an accurate weapon.
  • The weapon is robust, reliable and has a proven track record of performance.
  • 30 round magazine capability.  A definite advantage when minimizing the number of reloads one needs to perform.
  • Multiple configuration options for almost any situation including optics, collapsible stocks, lights, lasers, etc.  Mission dictates weapons choice so only add accessories that you need; don’t overdo it.
  • Accepts iron sights and or optical sights.
  • Flat top or Carry handle options.  Flat top has  a more stable platform for mounting optics while the carry handle provides a rugged, built in iron sight.
  • Weapon and ammunition together are lighter than many other rifle and ammo combinations.
  • Can be used for a variety of different survival related defensive tasks.
  • Quick and easy disassembly for cleaning and then reassembly.
  • Parts are readily available.
  • An overall excellent choice of weapon if the SHTF.

Comments
  1. highdesertlivin says:

    Yeaaaaah, Im torn. I really like my PTR, and my m1a socom.7.62 bring the party through the cinderblock wall and still takes names . Dont get me wrong , I like my M&P OR15, and my bushie. I think I need a gun caddy .

    • rmactsc says:

      I hear you. I have so many other rifles I enjoy using; my Izmash Saiga, my FAL L1A1, my completely updated SKS, etc. But I tend to end up going to my DPMS AR-15 whenever I’m heading out to the range 🙂

  2. Iam Rising says:

    My Dad built a couple of these when I was a kid and this was my first rifle.

    I’ve always really liked the shape. Some guns, well, a lot of guns actually, just don’t look right.

    • rmactsc says:

      For me it all came down to weight. For many years I always thought my Izmash Saiga would be my go to rifle and it is an excellent rifle; but it is considerable heavier than my AR-15 so weight became one of the deciding factors for me.

  3. nvchad2 says:

    Don’t forget your 22 conversion kit! The 22lr cartridge is probably the most common type of ammunition out there. I bet almost every farmer in the country has a few boxes somewhere for taking care of varmints or hunting small game. 🙂 The AR15 really is one of the best all purpose weapons out there.

    • rmactsc says:

      I haven’t set up a conversion kit for my AR as I generally switch to my Ruger 10/22 whenever I want to practice with a more economically priced ammunition 🙂

Leave a Reply

