Why The DPMS AP4 Panther Carbine Is My Favorite Rifle

Posted: January 6, 2013 in Weapons
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

With the myriad of rifle choices available today; here are my reasons for preferring the DPMS AP4 Panther Carbine to other rifles.

  1. Lightweight yet durable.
  2. 16 inch barrel with flash suppressor standard.
  3. Good quality A2 sights integrated into the carry handle.
  4. Carry Handle is detachable for optics or scope mounting. (See bullet point 7 for those who want to use a scope without removing the carry handle).
  5. Weight 7 pounds empty with a 36 3/8″ overall length.
  6. Reliable and accurate with iron sights.  Rear sight is adjustable for both windage and elevation.
  7. With adapter a scope can be mounted on top of the A2 carry handle which allows the iron sights to still be used.  Note; in this configuration the scope is mounted quite high which means you end up getting a chin weld when using the scope and a cheek weld when using the iron sights.  Also at certain distances in order to properly zero the scope you need to adjust your point of aim either above or below the target (depending on distance) in order to hit the target dead center.  This is due to the higher than usual scope placement when mounting on top of the carry handle.
  8. Accepts a wide range of accessories including bipod rails, bipod, flashlight rail, flashlight, etc.
  9. Works with 1 point, 2 point and 3 point slings.
  10. After many sessions at the range I have yet to have any malfunctions with this rifle.
  11. Effortless magazine loading and unloading with 30 round magazines.
  12. Semi auto trigger group with aluminum trigger guard.
  13. Recoil is almost non existent.
  14. Properly placed safety selector switch.

You can get a free preview of my first two post apocalyptic fiction books by clicking on the book cover images to the left of this blog post, on my blog page, which will take you to the Amazon.com website. Then you can click on the look inside option which will give you a free preview.  If my survival fiction books interest you; then consider purchasing a copy. 

DD492

Comments
  1. nvchad2 says:

    The AR platform really is great. So many options out there. You can get a rifle that suits pretty much any need you might have. And DPMS definitely makes good rifles. They don’t get any of the love that the big name manufacturers get, but I don’t see anything wrong with them. The trigger group on my rifle is made by them and I like it a lot.

  2. Holli says:

    Geez. I have so much to learn about guns. I’ve just been using my father’s .22 and my husband’s .243. I never thought of all these little details that would make a difference in my shooting. Not that I spend near enough time shooting, I’m ashamed to admit. Need to change that…

    Thanks for all your info and interesting posts! 🙂

  3. He he 😉 I’m smiling here…I just love the way you suggest purchasing a copy of your cool and exciting book if it interests you…followed by that lean, mean DPMS AP4 Panther Carbine rifle!! Trying to tell us something here?!! lol 😉

    • rmactsc says:

      No double meaning intended. I really enjoy my DPMS rifle and as you know for January all my royalties go to the wounded warrior project so two plugs with one post 🙂

Leave a Reply

