Mosin Nagant 1891/30 Bolt Action Rifle , 5 rounds chambered for 7.62x54r

DD580

Comments
  1. Tina says:

    Wow! Is that yours? Am I allowed to ask that?

    • rmactsc says:

      It’s an approximate representation of mine. I was going to take a picture of mine and put it up here but yahoo images had one already out there that looked the same so I used their image instead. I don’t take this particular rifle to the range that often and suprisingly enough they are very inexpensive. They originally come with a wooden stock and because mine are generally WW2 era surplus they run about $99.00; plus I replaced my original wooden stock with the synthetic one shown for about another $79.00. Rail kit to mount the scope was $27.00. Already had the scope and strap so for a small amount of money it was a fun project 🙂 Mine looks exactly the same as the one pictured above.

      • Tina says:

        Why did you change out the wooden stock, was it damaged? Or is the synthetic lighter? Just wondering …also is it female-friendly or does it have (a lot of) kick ?

      • rmactsc says:

        The kick is comparable to a 30-06 or a .308 so it has a good amount of recoil however a good recoil pad attached to the end of the stock will lessen it considerably. I have several Mosin Nagant 1891/30 rifles all with wood stocks so I wanted to set up a more modern configuration with this one. The synthetic stock is significantly and I do mean significantly lighter than the original wood stock. As rifles go this is also a longer rifle than most. This would not be considered my go to rifle; but as an inexpensive durable rifle goes they are fun to have.

      • Tina says:

        Yeah I even find the 30-06 a bit much for me, unless the weight is supported / like resting on a wall, car door,etc. I’m not much for shooting in motion either..so I learned …unless it’s light like a .22 and I’m aiming at a ptarmigan :-/ my arms get tired fast, my strong-arm days are behind me now. lol

  2. jessemathewson says:

    Good call switching the stock- – synthetics allow better accuracy in varying weather. 🙂 they don’t swell, or change in heat or cold- also- they are lighter- less rifle weight- more ammunition carried 😉

    Beautiful piece!

    • rmactsc says:

      Thanks. The only negative on the Mosin’s is if you are used to the smooth action of the bolt on today’s modern bolt action rifles; the bolt of the Mosin opening and closing is, shall we say much different 🙂

  3. Noah says:

    Nice gun. I just got a Mosin a couple of weeks ago and ordered the ATI stock to replace the original wood one. Great gun for the money.

    • rmactsc says:

      They are definitely an excellent rifle for the money. One thing I would suggest if your going to scope it; is due to the positioning of the UTG scope mount further up the barrel, make sure whatever scope you get if you decide to scope it, has at least 10 inches of eye relief.

Leave a Reply

