I’ve been fortunate to have tried almost every tactical 12 gauge pump action shotgun on the market today; and I own many as well including Mossberg 500’s and 590’s, Remington 870’s and 887’s, H&R Pardners, etc., etc.  While they are all well made, quality firearms, if I only had time to grab one for the zombie apocalypse; for me the choice is clear.

The shotgun I would choose must have 8+1 shotshell capabilities within the tube; using 00 buckshot in 2 3/4″ length.  It must hold an additional 5 shells on the folding ATI stock and hold an additional 4 shells on the aftermarket shot shell carrier which mounts opposite the ejection port. 

The shotgun I would choose can be used with the stock folded in confined spaces; or unfolded for proper cheek weld and shoulder support.  It must be rugged, durable, dependable and most of all, be as close to 100% reliable as possible.  If the zombie apocalypse happens; my choice of shotgun; for the reasons stated above is my Mossberg 590 12 gauge pump action shotgun.  

You can get a free preview of my first three post apocalyptic fiction books by clicking on the book cover images to the left of this blog post, on my blog page, which will take you to the Amazon.com website. Then you can click on the look inside option which will give you a free preview.  If my survival fiction books interest you; then consider purchasing them.  Book titles include American Rebellion Book 1 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 2 of the Revolution and American Rebellion Book 3 of the Revolution.

Comments
  1. I do like your suggestion though I have a few comments to make.

    I used to shoot IPSC and CPP/CPC with a Model 1200 Winchester Defender. It proved reliable and the variety of accessories make it impressive as well. Mine had a rifle grip so no pistole grip there, though I had the combat barrel and it proved very useful in small spaces as well. The quick change barrel system could be made in as little as 45secs, so if you needed a longer barrel for slugs, to reach out and touch someone, that was easy peasy as well.

    Some people will not be able to handle the pistole grip at all and will get hurt. I do suggest people learn to shoot with both hands on both sides, this is real world applications.

    • rmactsc says:

      Excellent suggestions and I appreciate you sharing them. I’ve often gone back and forth with whether or not to use pistol grip or rifle grip; and as I own a good number of shotguns, I would say about half of them are pistol grip configured and the other half are rifle grip configured.

  2. […] Ultimate Zombie Survival Shotgun Revisited. […]

  3. nvchad2 says:

    I’ve gotta say, that’s a really neat looking stock. I’ve never seen anything like that before.

    • rmactsc says:

      It’s an ATI top folding stock and is very easy to install. One thing I discovered was that there is no padding on the portion that rests against your shoulder when it is unfolded into a full stock configuration. To remedy that I bought some cloth hockey tape and wrapped that portion; so now it’s thick and recoil absorbent. There is usually a homemade way to fix almost anything lol 🙂

      • nvchad2 says:

        Good thinking! My Mini-14 came with an under-folding stock that also had no padding. It wasn’t too uncomfortable though. But I definitely prefer the padding that came on my ATI Strikeforce stock. Has like an inch of rubber at the back, Very nice!

      • rmactsc says:

        How do you like the Mini 14? I find all of my rifles are pretty easy to zero except the Mini 14. That one presents some challenges 🙂

      • nvchad2 says:

        You mean its possible to zero a Mini 14?? Haha. I love my Mini. It’s my favorite gun that shoots .223. Mine was pretty close to being zeroed when I bought it so I’ve never had issues. Just starts shooting all over the place when she heats up. My first few shots from 50 yards open sight are usually right around the bullseye. After that . . . no. 🙂

      • rmactsc says:

        I’d like to have a few words with the engineer who designed the Mini 14. I cringe whenever someone says can you help me zero my Mini 14 🙂

  4. nvchad2 says:

    I like the way it functions mechanically. It’s a very simple and clean system. I cringe when I break open my AR to clean it after a trip to the range. I can shoot 500 or so rounds through my Mini and not have to worry about dirt at all. 🙂

Leave a Reply

