What Do I keep In My Bug Out Bag

Posted: February 24, 2013 in Equipment
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

For most SHTF scenarios I anticipate bugging in rather than bugging out.  However it is still essential to have a bug out bag packed and ready to go.  So with that said; what gear do I keep in my bug out bag? The following; in no particular order is a list of my Alice/Malice pack, bug out bag gear.

  • 3 pairs of socks
  • 3 pairs of underwear
  • 3 Tee shirts
  • 3 long sleeve shirts
  • 1 sweatshirt
  • 1 Jacket
  • 2 Pairs of Pants with Belt
  • 5 pairs of lightweight work gloves
  • 1 pair of shooting gloves
  • 1 pair of winter gloves
  • 1 Raincoat
  • 1 Boonie Hat
  • 1 Winter hat
  • 1 Complete First Aid Kit including Medicine
  • 2 Bottles of Hand Sanitizer
  • 2 Small compressed rolls of Toilet Paper
  • 9 Eyeglass Wipes
  • 1 Eyeglass Case
  • 1 Compass
  • 1 Set of area maps
  • 1 Fixed Blade Knife with Sheath
  • 1 Pistol Holster
  • 1 Pistol
  • 1 Mag Pouch with 3 slots
  • 3 Mags
  • Spare Ammo
  • 1 Riggers Belt
  • 1 Flashlight 80 Lumens
  • 6 replacement flashlight batteries
  • 3 packs of waterproof matches
  • 1 Firestarter
  • 2 Removable Canteen Straps
  • 2 Canteens in Canteen pouches with water
  • 1 Metal Water Bottle with Molle bottle holder
  • 120 Peanut Butter Crackers
  • 1 Bottle of Vitamins
  • 2 Bottles of Water Purification Tablets
  • 1 Water purification filter with straw
  • 4 Packages of Iodine Tablets to protect against radiation
  • 1 Adhesive Radiation Detector
  • 1 Pair of Binoculars
  • 1 Portable Radio
  • 4 replacement radio batteries
  • 1 Bandana
  • Assorted Petty Cash
  • 550 Paracord
  • 1 Roll of Cloth Tape
  • 5 Snap Straps
  • 4 Compression Straps
  • 1 Sleeping Bag with Stuff Sack 
  • 5 Mylar Emergency Blankets
  • 1 Fork and Spoon Set
  • 1 Can Opener
  • 1 Bottle Opener
  • 1 Signal Mirror
  • 1 Pocket Knife

You can get a free preview of my first three post apocalyptic fiction books by clicking on the book cover images to the left of this blog post, on my blog page, which will take you to the Amazon.com website. Then you can click on the look inside option which will give you a free preview.  If my survival fiction books interest you; then consider purchasing them.  Book titles include American Rebellion Book 1 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 2 of the Revolution and American Rebellion Book 3 of the Revolution.

DD605

Comments
  1. […] What Do I keep In My Bug Out Bag […]

  2. Brittius says:

    All I carry, is a Becker BK5, and a fire steel.
    Ammo is on my person, gun(s), a part of me.
    Pocket knife always in my pocket.
    I place priority on carrying ammunition before anything else. Improvise, and I hate to say this but.., you can always strip the dead, of necessities or a jacket, blanket, water flask, and so forth.
    I do not mean to upset anybody.

    • rmactsc says:

      Generally I keep ammo on my person in a disaster/SHTF scenario. However I keep additional spare ammo in both my bug out bag and my armed response bag.

      • Brittius says:

        OK. Priority is always given to ammo. Things can get dicey if you have a wife and children along, but for when it goes bad, ammo is the key.

    • Nancy says:

      You make total sense !

    • DNB says:

      That’s great if there are dead bodies laying all around to get their stuff, if not you better have some food and water for your family before they starve to death. It looks good on the movies but doesn’t really apply in real life. I hope you don’t plan on getting into a big fire fight with your family. I will carry a weapon too, but my thought is that if you fire a shot and don’t get to your destination undetected you may have some problems. Just my thoughts.

  3. DNB says:

    You have a good start but you have way to many items that you will never use. As a former Green Beret I have done the Bugout thing for real. All you need is food, water and socks. The ony thing I take as a backup is a compass. Get rid if the 5 pairs of work gloves, fix blade knife, can opener ect. If it is winter bring warm clothes but no extra pants with belt extra shirts ect. Go light!!!

    • rmactsc says:

      You bring up some valid points and I appreciate that. My initial reason for carrying “excess” was that it works for what I consider my acceptable body weight to pack weight ratio and my philosophy of better to have more of what you need than none at all. Your points are good and I appreciate you sharing them.

      • DNB says:

        The Bugout bag is simply to get you from point A to point B. Most are made for 72 hours but that depends on your situation. If you think you may not need an item leave it out. If the weather is warm you don’t need extra cloths or toiletry items on your back. If you are using it to butout to a bugout location then it should be stocked with items. Go light, water is heavy and will slow you down. Have cloths in your car or by your bugout bag that you can change into to start your bugout. I actually teach a class on bugout bags and other subjects like Patrolling, Family Evacuation, Home Security Plan, and Neighborhood Defense Planning. I use my military and law enforcement training to help families. I will help you and anyone on the site if needed

      • rmactsc says:

        Feel free to place a link back to your site if you’d like and I look forward to your comments.

  4. DNB says:

    Let me know what you think of my last comment.

  5. civilinathan says:

    Say I wanted to try a stripped down Bug Out Bag, where I would be carrying as many essentials as possible on an H harness, belt, leg holster and possibly a butt pack.

    In your opinion, can that be reasonably done, or am I being too optimistic?

    • rmactsc says:

      It all comes down to what you feel are necessary items to carry. My bug out bag centers around being able to survive a minimum of 72 hours but possibly more without essential items at hand other than what I can carry; so for me having the bug out bag is essential.

  6. DNB says:

    Yes, your bug out bag should be minimal but food and water are still bulky. I would go with a backpack. Be sure it has some kind of a frame, internal or external. Don’t try to hunt and fish on the way or it will take you to long to get where you are going. My rule of thumb is, if you think you MIGHT need it leave it behind. The most important thing are, food, water and good socks and boots. Keep it lite and get to where you are going. The better your bushcraft skills are the lighter your pack will become.

  7. DNB says:

    Hey, this is DNB the Green Beret that commented on your Bug Out Bag. I am retiring in less than 3 years and going to start my own business on Bug Out Bags, Patrolling, planning Famiy Evacuation, Home Sec./Defense, and creating others. Can I email you?

    DNB

  8. DNB says:

    I will do whatever I can Stephen

Leave a Reply

