Carrying any combination of 2 long arms (rifles, shotguns) into the field can be cumbersome.  A drag bag allows you to take multiple long guns into the field along with related equipment (magazines, ammo, hearing protection, repair kit, etc) by either dragging the bag with a foot attachment through the brush, sniper style, so one can remain concealed; or carrying the bag, back pack style with attached shoulder straps.

My drag bags are made by NcStar and are well constructed and can handle a fair amount of abuse.  The bag will hold two long arms in separate compartments plus has 4 large exterior pockets for holding a good amount of related gear.  The muzzle end of the bag also has a reinforced hood to protect the case from tearing when dragging it through rough terrain.  Whether used for a trip to the range, out in the field or just for transport capabilities a drag bag is an excellent way to carry your firearms.

So what do I keep in my drag bag?  Here’s my list. Rifle, shotgun, hearing protection, ammo, magazines, ammo pouches, bandanna, binoculars, cleaning kit, first aid kit, paper targets, staple gun, staples, tape and a repair kit.  

You can get a free preview of my first three post apocalyptic fiction books by clicking on the book cover images to the left of this blog post, on my blog page, which will take you to the Amazon.com website. Then you can click on the look inside option which will give you a free preview.  If my survival fiction books interest you; then consider purchasing them.  Book titles include American Rebellion Book 1 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 2 of the Revolution and American Rebellion Book 3 of the Revolution.

Comments
  1. 1stminstrel says:

    I have a Yahoo “Camping and Survival” group if you would like to post anything there including your books. Membership need approval but no worry, will approve you right away…open posting for anything relating to camping or survival.
    http://groups.yahoo.com/group/aaacampingandsurvival/

  2. jessemathewson says:

    Reblogged this on Jesse Talks Back and commented:
    My only issue with drag bags is the extra noise. An alternative though not as fun as drag brags would be using a bicycle trailer. Solid rubber tubes, 100mph tape and cerakote will make the trailer quiet and almost invisible.
    🙂

    • rmactsc says:

      Thanks for the reblog sir. Good point about the noise. Generally speaking I tend to use mine more as range transportation bags but next time I’m out in the field with it; I’ll have to keep tabs on just how much noise they make 🙂

      • jessemathewson says:

        I agree, and have several my self- 🙂

        It was not until recently that I begin thinking about the noise factor- of course I WANT the enemy making noise 😉

      • ldunnjr01 says:

        There are two types of noises in the field: They are the ones that will put the fear of God either in you or them.” The other is a HUGE Bear charging at you. My brother and I froze with fear and disbelief because neither one of us heard that big boy sneaking up on us. I still think my brother soiled his pants. Our Grandfather took the bear out and began giving us one of his lesson of being one with the wild.

        PS When you are young and inexperience in the woods – everything looks big.

      • rmactsc says:

        Thanks for sharing. I’ve only seen bears from a safe distance but your experience is one worth reflecting on when out in the woods.

  3. jay352 says:

    Ever seen the little golf club carts?Throw a drag bag on it and discard it when you have to. Best of both worlds.

  4. me-buzz.com says:

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare
    to see a nice blog like this one nowadays.

Leave a Reply

