Ever wonder what the proper way to focus your binoculars is.  Here is the method that I use.

  1. Hold the binoculars up to your eyes.
  2. Grasp the barrels and move them either inward or outward until you see a single circular field.
  3. Set the dioptre scale located on the right eyepiece to zero.
  4. Close your right eye and turn the center focusing wheel to obtain the correct focus for your left eye.
  5. Close your left eye and turn the dioptre ring to properly set the focus for your right eye.  Your binoculars are now properly focused.

Here are a few additional considerations.  Use a secure set of straps with your binoculars to avoid dropping and damaging them on hard surfaces.  If you wear eyeglasses or sunglasses you can fold down the binoculars eye cups which will allow you to get closer to the lens for a better field of view.

You can get a free preview of my first three post apocalyptic fiction survival books by clicking on the book cover images to the left of this blog post, on my blog page, which will take you to the Amazon.com website. Then you can click on the look inside option which will give you a free preview.  If my survival fiction books interest you; then consider purchasing them.  Book titles include American Rebellion Book 1 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 2 of the Revolution and American Rebellion Book 3 of the Revolution.

DD624

Comments
  1. Cool post 🙂 I’ve got quite adept at focussing the ones I have for astronomical observations (work well for a wider view etc alongside the telescope and far more portable!)

    Your like button isn’t loading for some reason so I can’t click it but would have done if could!

    • rmactsc says:

      Your like button click showed up: must have been a delay. How did you first get interested in Astronomy?

      • It’s in my blood! I think I was born to it. For as long as I can remember it’s fascinated and drawn me like nothing else has the power to do. My enthusiasm for it has never waned across the years. The stars draw me like Europa draws the Icewolves,..

        Your like button said it was loading…it was still loading when I left your blog! And I was there for a while too 😉 It’s been happening a lot I notice on different blogs but my connection may be responsible…it snows down…I mean it sLows down lol when there’s bad weather such as the recent snow on the way/around. But I’m pleased to know it worked anyway 🙂 And I hope all is well with you and yours 🙂

      • rmactsc says:

        Everything is well. I hope all is well in your world also. Will you be blogging about astronomy at all? I think it would make a very interesting topic especially as you are so passionate about it 🙂

  2. conelrad says:

    Reblogged this on Contra.

Leave a Reply

