Owning  firearms for home defense is a responsibility that one should not take lightly.  Here are a few things to remember about your home defense firearms.

  • Make sure you are properly trained on the use of your home defense firearms.  Make sure you are proficient with loading, unloading, clearing malfunctions and acquiring your target.
  • Go to the range regularly and properly practice, practice, practice.
  • Along with range time mentally visualize the process for loading, unloading, clearing malfunctions and aquiring your target.  Visualization is an important aspect of training.
  • Make sure you are properly licensed as needed.
  • Never ever under any circumstances leave a loaded firearm unattended.
  • Store your bulk ammo and your firearms in seperate locations. 
  • Keep your firearms secure and well hidden when not in use.
  • This point will raise debate as many people keep their home defense handgun loaded and on their nightstand when they go to bed.  I do not.  My preferred method when I go to bed is to unload my EDC handgun, verifying that the chamber is empty and keep the loaded magazine on my nightstand next to the bed.  I keep my unloaded handgun is in a holster attached to the bedframe just below the nightstand out of sight.  I can, if awoken slap the loaded magazine into the handgun and have a round chambered in about 3 seconds……….I know I’ve practiced this frequently. 
  • My home defense firearms are divided into three categories.  Handguns for home defense against an intruder.  Shotguns for home defense against multiple intruders.  Rifles for home defense in the event of looting or rioting.
  • Be safe, be careful and have the proper mindset when handling any type of firearm.

You can get a free preview of my first five post apocalyptic fiction survival books by clicking on the book cover images to the left of this blog post, on my blog page, which will take you to the Amazon.com website. Then you can click on the look inside option which will give you a free preview.  If my survival fiction books interest you; then consider purchasing them.  Book titles include American Rebellion Book 1 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 2 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 3 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 4 of the Revolution and American Rebellion Book 5 of the Revolution.

Comments
  1. squachi says:

    I like that you mention repeatably to practice and use the term “acquiring your target” as well. There is one thing that is for sure bullet placement in the home is extremely important. First and foremost… do no harm to your own self, friends, or family. I’ve found a good thing to remember is: once a bullet is set free it can not be called back. This is where practice and target acquisition are paramount.

    • rmactsc says:

      Thank you. Practice is extremely important as a person must be proficient with their self defense weapons of choice. You are correct that you must be aware of your target and also what is in front of your target, behind your target and around your target.

  2. […] Home Defense Firearms | rmactsc. […]

  3. All guns are always loaded, even my four year old understands that. Great article, and definitely agreed always practice, be willing to take advice, look at it and discard what is unnecessary but change what may be.

    As for the loaded or unloaded argument, not my cup o’ tea, everyone to their own. I stay cocked and locked all the time, however, thats just me.

  4. TamrahJo says:

    How come rifles for looting/rioting instead of the shotgun as in for multiple intruders? Because of reloading? (if silly question, forgive, please)

    • rmactsc says:

      I’ve always though of civil unrest as being mobs of angry, ruthless thugs converging on an area. My shotguns depending on make and model either hold 6,7,8 or 9 shells; however your AR and AK platforms will hold 30 rounds. If a large group decides to attack and you can’t get out of the way or conceal yourself and avoid the attack; 30 rounds is better 🙂

      • TamrahJo says:

        Unruly mobs is, to me, the most likely scenario, whether anything catastrophic has happened or not – heck, someone could have just lost a football game –

        So glad I live on the outskirts of a small town in BFE and no longer near the metropolis area 🙂

      • rmactsc says:

        I live in a small to medium size town; which makes things easier from a survival perspective then if a person lives in an urban area.

Leave a Reply

