In a survival situation it is important to stay calm and avoid being careless or impatient.  You must learn to recognize and control your fear.  Remember that there is always something you can do to improve your situation.  Consider all of the facts then make effective decisions.

Formulate responses based on safety, security and survival.  Use all of your senses and trust that gut feeling that you get that tells you that something is wrong.  Use common sense to avoid situations and locations that increase your risk of danger.  Remember maximize your distance to a threat; minimize yourself as a target and keep your muzzle between you and the threat.

Your survival depends upon applying survival principles and adapting them to your situation.  You must take responsibility for your own survival and not rely on anyone else to save you.  Outside help may be coming, but there will be times when outside help is not available, so you must rely on yourself.

Develop the will to survive.  You must have the mindset that you will survive.  Attitude and determination are great allies just as doubt and fear are your enemies.  Stay calm and don’t worry about things that you can’t control.  Keep your eyes and ears focused on the task at hand and be aware of your surroundings.  You must think clearly and react accordingly.

You can get a free preview of my first five post apocalyptic fiction survival books by clicking on the book cover images to the left of this blog post, on my blog page, which will take you to the Amazon.com website. Then you can click on the look inside option which will give you a free preview.  If my survival fiction books interest you; then consider purchasing them.  Book titles include American Rebellion Book 1 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 2 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 3 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 4 of the Revolution and American Rebellion Book 5 of the Revolution.

DD590

Comments
  1. Holli says:

    I think this is good advice for one’s entire life, not just when the SHTF. And, if you are used to doing this, it won’t be so foreign when the tragedy does strike.

    If I am used to seeing where the exits are on the plane, keeping an eye out for people that give me a bad feeling, acting on my gut feelings, and knowing that I am in charge of my well-being and success in general, then I will be comfortable with those thoughts. Just my humble opinion. 🙂

    • rmactsc says:

      You are my kind of person. Just don’t open the emergency exit when the plane is in the air 🙂 How is your writing coming along?

      • Holli says:

        That sounds like a good deal. Wait until it lands…check. 😉

        Writing is going well, but I’m not focused. I have about 4 books in my head all at once and I need to extract one at a time. LOL

        My husband is in Colonial Williamsburg today due to an AF class that took him to Virginia. He’s talking to some of the shops there to see if they wish to stock my book. 🙂

        Also, a review on Amazon said that a mother let her 6th graders read it. They understood the Declaration so much better than their peers in school and she asked why. They showed her the book, and she used it to teach the class!

        I was shocked because I have gotten some schools declining it because it discusses God (you know, like how He’s mentioned four times in the DoI). But, then there are about 20 more that have put it in their libraries. Go figure! 😛

      • rmactsc says:

        I know what you mean. I constantly have multiple ideas for books running through my mind; just not enough time to write them all 🙂 Reviews and people can be funny things; sometimes what one person really likes about a book is exactly what someone else doesn’t like about it. Go figure. Best of luck on the writing.

      • Holli says:

        Thank you! Yes, the National Center for Constitutional Studies didn’t like the book because of the light tone I used in regards to the founders. But, that’s just what many people like…I don’t put them on a pedestal of perfection. They were men. Good, moral men (most of them), but humans nonetheless. Ah, well. Such is life! 😀

Leave a Reply

