Well I thought this day would never come but I’m finally making the switch.  I’m replacing my medium woodland camo Alice/Malice pack that I spent time customizing to get it just right with a Condor 3 day assault pack in O.D. Green.  As I get older comfort becomes more and more important and no matter how you might try and convince yourself otherwise; an Alice Pack is nowhere near as comfy as today’s modern, well padded packs.

I’m going to start changing my methods for this bug out bag.  My Alice Pack was a 100% dedicated bug out bag; the new Condor one will be set up to cover a hybrid of uses.  The new bag will be set up on a 50/50 ratio meaning 50% of the space will be used for bug out essentials and the other 50% of the space will be used for when I need to take a bag with me on vacation.  I’ll call it a multipurpose bug out bag/get home bag/travel bag or just an All Purpose Bag for short.  As soon as Amazon delivers it I’ll set it up and let you know how it functions.  

Here’s the specs on the bag:  

  • – Large load cargo capacity compartment with separate pocket to fit up to two 3L hydration bladders. – Olive Drab contour shoulder straps with D-Ring for equipment attachment, sternum strap and waist belt. – External side compression straps.
  • – Heavy-Duty carry and drag handle. – Two double zipper pulls on the main compartment for easy access. – Individual foam pad back panel for extra comfort and maximum airflow. – Grommets on all compartments for drainage. 
  • Total of seven compartments: – Main Compartment with gear straps to secure gears and two extra mesh pockets. – Second Compartment contains three map/document pockets, two radio pockets, and penholders.
  • – Two large pockets on the back, bottom pocket (12.5″ x 6″ x 3″) with three elastic closure mesh pockets and a zipper mesh pocket. – Two side pockets (9″ x 5″ x 2.5″) one on each side. – One Compartment for hydration systems.

I also ordered a seperate Condor rip stop EMT pouch, a Condor Gear Pouch and a Condor 2.5L Hydration Bladder.  I’m looking forward to setting everything up.  Come on Amazon; hurry up 🙂

You can get a free preview of my first zombie fiction book or my first five post apocalyptic fiction survival books by clicking on the book cover images to the left of this blog post, on my blog page, which will take you to the Amazon.com website. Then you can click on the look inside option which will give you a free preview.  If my zombie or survival fiction books interest you; then consider purchasing them.  Book titles include Biohazard Redacted Book 1 of the Zombie Apocalypse, American Rebellion Book 1 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 2 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 3 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 4 of the Revolution and American Rebellion Book 5 of the Revolution.

DD915

 

Comments
  1. Duncan says:

    Heresy! You’ll be excommunicated, black-listed, black-balled, cut out from the rest of the world! Nah, the Condor is a pretty sweet pack. I wouldn’t mind having one myself. I’m back to using the ALICE for my outdoor use but wouldn’t consider using it as a vacation/day pack of any sort. I hope it works out well!

  2. rmactsc says:

    Hotels tend to look at me funny when I walk in with an Alice Pack; so in the interest of better hotel etiquette I’ll go with the Condor. I’m just not a suitcase kind of a guy 🙂

  3. Reblogged this on Jesse Talks Back and commented:
    Condor makes great packs, be sure you check all seams, occasionally I have found I needed to reinforce with additional stitching or fabric, however, generally they function incredibly well.

  4. I have one, you’ll like it. I use it for vacation luggage as well. Works great. I hope you have Amazon Prime shipping, for your mental health.

    • rmactsc says:

      Glad to hear you’ve had good experiences with the Condor pack. I have regular Amazon not prime so I guess I’ll have to wait a few extra days to receive it. What would the world be like without Amazon lol 🙂

  5. jdtharp says:

    I just got a 5.11 Rush 72-hour bag. It should be a vast improvement over the old computer backpack I pressed into service. Looking forward to your review.

    • rmactsc says:

      You’ll have to let me know what you think of the 5.11 Rush after you’ve used it for awhile. Once I receive the Condor I’ll put it through its paces for a month or so and then write a review 🙂

  6. pogeypackrat says:

    Now all you need is one of the Zombie Survival Kit patches from our store! In all seriousness, the Alice pack does have one advantage over these types of packs and that’s the frame system. You’re right in that it’s not as comfortable for lack of padding, but the frame’s rigidity serves you well over time; you can bring an ALICE or MALICE pack into the modern day in terms of comfort easily (and still keep the rigidity of the frame) by using the newly designed 1606AC Frame and Mountaineering Style Pad Set from DownEast, Inc. For moving long distance w/ heavy weight I would never ditch an external frame. YMMV!

    • rmactsc says:

      I’ll check out the patches 🙂 I had put a lot of work into modifying my old Alice Pack by doing some homemade customization so I’ll keep the pack as a backup; but as I get older, comfort becomes much more important.

Leave a Reply

