550 paracord is a kernmantle rope consisting of a braided covering over a bundle of seven inner cords. Paracord has many uses.  Here are some of the things I have considered using paracord for.  I’d be interesting in hearing what additional uses you might have for paracord for as well.

  • Replacement shoe laces in the field
  • Carry Strap
  • Ridgeline for a tarp shelter
  • Clothes line
  • Splint for broken fingers
  • Lashing items to a pack
  • Trip line
  • Zipper pulls
  • Tent guy out line
  • Belt
  • Knife Lanyard
  • Hanging a metal pot over a fire
  • Perimeter trip wire in conjunction with tin cans.

You can get a free preview of my first zombie fiction book or my first five post apocalyptic fiction survival books by clicking on the book cover images to the left of this blog post, on my blog page, which will take you to the Amazon.com website. Then you can click on the look inside option which will give you a free preview.  If my zombie or survival fiction books interest you; then consider purchasing them.  Book titles include Biohazard Redacted Book 1 of the Zombie Apocalypse, American Rebellion Book 1 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 2 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 3 of the Revolution, American Rebellion Book 4 of the Revolution and American Rebellion Book 5 of the Revolution.  Make your purchases before it’s too late.

DD964

Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Jesse Talks Back and commented:
    I use it for everything. After all a 25 foot section can be unwound and stripped into multiple 50 lb test smaller lines and like that can be used efficiently for far more than we tend to think.

    • rmactsc says:

      Thanks for the reblog. You are right it can be used for so many things and I’m always interested in what creative uses people find for paracord.

  2. Fishing line, slings, belts, strapping and more

  3. Brittius says:

    I shave with a straight razor (since 1970). I use paracord instead of the little clip that secures the strop to the wall hook. Secure the paracord to form a loop with a figure eight knot. Clip is rated at 40 PSI breaking strength. Paracord eight strand, is rated at 550 PSI. Much better, especially when having a straight razor in my hand. I did have a few clips break throughout the years, but never once, a breakage of paracord.
    Boot and shoe lacings. When you make the bow, give the paracord one extra wind around the primary loop end, then take out the slack and tighten down. Never had a shoe lace or boot lace made of paracord undo itself. If lacings are too thick for eyelets, simply remove the strand core. Want to get dressy, you can then flatten the outer shell with an iron on low setting.
    Also have secured snow tire chain slack adjusters with paracord. Hold great once you have the slack out of the knot, and I like an extra wind in this application when making the knot. I also used rope once, as a hasty chain, by tying around the tire, then threading around the wheel rim over the tire tread.

    • rmactsc says:

      Those are some excellent examples of parcord uses. I can’t remember the last time I shaved with a straight razor even though I own two of them. I guess I’ve become too enamored with the conveniences of an electric razor 🙂

      • Brittius says:

        I keep all of mine honed to 12,000 grit. Keep them well honed, and stropped with a quality strop. Then the secret is light pressure with your hand. Right hand shaves the right side of my face. Left hand shaves the left side of my face. Opposite for shaving upstroke. Use a brush and soap to make my own lather. Better than the stuff sold in cans. It really doesn’t matter much who made the razor, or what nation it comes from, as long as it is honed and stropped. All of my German made razors are fantastic. I did buy one from Pakistan because I had to see “how bad” it was said to be. They are not allowed to sell them sharpened. That is their government law. Honed it up. It’s a very nice razor, also. I shave with my razors, I do not collect or display them. Guess you can say that I belong in a century that passed.

  4. Christopher Chumbley says:

    It works well for snare traps.
    Braided and with the proper knots it works great as an assault rifle sling.
    Lashing a survival knife to a pole for spear fishing.
    Woven in to a fishing net.

Leave a Reply

