Violent Crime Awareness

Posted: November 5, 2013 in Tactics
Tags: , , , , , , ,

It is imperative; and I stress imperative that folks understand that violent crime has the potential to strike anyone at anytime.  Knowing this it becomes important to be situationally aware of who and what is around you and to have a plan to deal with potentially dangerous situations if they develop. Many criminals look for victims of opportunity; which means people who are not paying attention to where they are, what they are doing, and who appear weak and vulnerable.  So let’s talk about some things you need to be particularly aware of.

  • Avoid dangerous places which means don’t go to bad parts of the city or to drug and crime infested areas.
  • Don’t go to desolate, out of the way ATM’s alone and don’t go up and down stairwells alone in places like parking garages.
  • Don’t flash lots of cash, or expensive rings, or watches in public places.
  • Remember there are bad people out there who only see you as an obstacle to getting what they want.  They will think nothing of hurting, raping, or killing you to achieve their objectives.
  • Always keep your fully charged cell phone handy, keep your car doors locked when driving, and when parked, and have your self defense weapons accessible.
  • Know where your children are going, the routes they are taking, and when they are leaving and when they should be back.
  • Know who your chidren’s friends are and make sure you have their phone numbers in case you need to reach them.
  • Train properly with your self defense weapons of choice such as pepper spray, hand to hand fighting skills, knife, gun, etc.
  • Make yourself a hard target; which means make yourself appear to be someone who will be too difficult to rob, rape, or assault.  Criminals want easy targets; if you appear to be a hard target they will pass you by in search of easier prey.

You can see 5 of my post apocalyptic fiction books, 2 of my zombie fiction books and 1 of my horror fiction books on the left side of my blog page.  Go ahead; take a chance and purchase one or more over at Amazon.com.  They are really quite interesting if I do say so myself 🙂

DD415

Comments
  1. Reboot1776 says:

    I’m struggling right now to teach this to my daughter. My son gets it, but he’s quieter, more introverted, he watches and assesses everything. My daughter is extremely creative and walks around with her head on her next creative project, sometimes totally oblivious to her surroundings. I get that because I’m creative as well, but when I’m outside my comfort zone (aka my home), I’m very aware of where I am and who or what is around me. Suggestions for teaching this?

    • rmactsc says:

      I taught my children, when they were younger, by giving them a scenario and asking them to tell me what they would do in that situation; and what they could have done to prevent that situation from occurring in the first place. I’d like to think that helped them with this.

Leave a Reply

