Health And Disaster Survival

Posted: November 19, 2013 in Commentary
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Some of you have perhaps noticed I have not posted in the last six days; and that was due to battling a fever, body aches, chills, and your basic underlying cold symptoms.  It gave me a chance to ponder a few things on the road to recovery.  Generally I am a very healthy person and I am grateful and appreciative for that; but being sick for these past six days has made me once again realize just how important your health really is.

If I had needed to defend my home or protect my family while dealing with fever, chills, and bodyaches; it is doubtful whether I would have been able to do so effectively.  Let’s face it; nothing puts you out of commission faster than sickness or overall poor health.  With that said I have made a renewed commitment to eating better, taking better care of myself, maintaining a more relaxed and peaceful mindset, being more appreciative of things, being less critical and less judgemental of others, and praying to God each and every day.  After all I am certainly not getting any younger but hopefully I am getting a little wiser.

If looters and thugs strike, or if zombies are on the horizon, or if you have to deal with societal collapse or any other disasters that come to mind; if you don’t have your health then you are at a significant disadvantage.  So please, do whatever you can to stay as healthy as possible.  I wish all of you the very best and I hope that wherever you are; you find yourself safe, secure, happy and healthy.

You can see 5 of my post apocalyptic fiction books, 2 of my zombie fiction books and 1 of my horror fiction books on the left side of my blog page.  Go ahead; take a chance and purchase one or more over at Amazon.com.  They are really quite interesting to read if I do say so myself 🙂

DD301

Comments
  1. Brittius says:

    Have some chicken soup with parsley flakes and lace it with crushed red pepper. That will knock everything out of you when you sit on the bowl or squat over a slit trench.
    (Have with that, a few good shots of whatever liquor you like, straight up and neat. I like Everclear 190-Proof).

  2. Idahobob says:

    Elderberries…..either juice or dehydrated and ground, used in tea.

    As for taking better care of ourselves….exercise, daily. I have found that the older I get, the more important exercise is.

    Bob
    III

  3. Reboot1776 says:

    Grandma had it right! Chicken soup and hot tea! Glad you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

