Political Correctness; No Thank You

Posted: December 16, 2013 in Preparedness
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Political correctness; it’s just so wrong in so many ways.  If you have something to say just say it. Don’t sugar coat it because someones feelings might get a little ruffled.  We need to stop pandering to those who can’t bear to hear the truth or who have a false sense of being offended over every little thing.

It’s ridiculous to think we need to protect everyone’s sensative ears from every little word that is uttered.  If you’re offended by free speech then you need to grow a backbone and toughen up.  I for one will say what I want to say and if you don’t like it then don’t listen.  We are turning into a nation of wimps who have no character.  Speak your mind and let the chips fall where they may.

A criminal is a criminal, they are not behaviorally challenged.  Failure is failure, it is not deferred success.  An illegal alien is an illegal alien, they are not undocumented workers.  Insane people are insane, they are not selectively perceptive.  A junkie is a junkie, they are not a substance abuse victim.  A bum is a bum, they are not a displaced homeowner.

As for me political correctness is nothing more than a failed attempt to eliminate stigma from certain social and political scenarios.  Maybe if more social stigma was applied instead of less, than people would stop behaving in anti social, immoral ways.  Remember personal responsibility is personal responsibility regardless of what the politically correct crowd would have you think.

You can see all 5 of my post apocalyptic fiction books, 2 of my zombie fiction books and 1 of my horror fiction books on the left side of my blog page.  Go ahead; take a chance and purchase one or more over at Amazon.com.  They are really quite interesting to read if I do say so myself and they also make excellent gifts 🙂

Comments
  1. amberskyef says:

    Sometimes what you call political correctness, I call compassion, so I disagree with some of your points. Yeah, totally, a criminal is a criminal, and failure can be failure, but failure, honestly, is entirely subjective. If I couldn’t land a pirouette in class, I don’t consider it a failure. I consider it a mistake because I can normally land pirouettes, so I learn from that mistake in order to remember what I need to do next time to land pirouettes consistently. Success is also entirely subjective. What you may consider successful, may not be successful to me at all, just as what you consider failure may not be failure to me. I consistently make mistakes in class, but I consider those successes because when I make a mistake, I make a mistake because I was pushing myself to the limits so I could learn what those limits are, and some of the girls are unwilling to do that because they’re either afraid that they will be considered failures, when that is not the case at all. You will never know your limits until you push yourself to the brink of what may potentially injure you.

    Also, when I was hospitalized, I did meet “junkies,” and I think these really are substance abuse victims, and I am not labeling them out of any politically correctness. I am labeling them out of personal experience, which I think is A LOT more important than looking at a substance abuse victim at face value instead of learning whey the abuse substances–assuming they didn’t harm anyone but themselves in the process. Someone who kills another because of substance abuse deserves no such compassion, but many of these people only harmed themselves and no one else. They chose to, absolutely, but at the same time, a majority of these people suffer with an undiagnosed mental illness that they had no awareness of, so they turned to the only thing they thought could make them feel better. Or they do suffer from a diagnosed mental illness, but have yet to find the right treatment (contrary to popular belief, mental illness is not as easily treated as the media will lead you to believe), so they turned to the only thing that could make them feel better, because, really who the hell wants to feel depressed day-in and day-out, especially when you have to wait an entire month for a psychiatric visit to receive another med that may not work? I totally understand that drugs can destroy more than just the person, but that is why these people need compassion so they can get help. There are substance abusers who do recover from their substance abuse, so to call them junkies implies they deserve no such compassion from us, and so they’re just going to continue on what they’re doing because no one will bother to help them. Are their substance abusers who go back to what they do? Absolutely, but there are a myriad of factors surrounding the decision to abuse drugs, and we shouldn’t judge those who do. With your average substance abuser, you can’t even tell that this person abuses substances. None of the people I met looked like they did. Not at all. And these were incredibly nice people, so this is when I decided to stop judging drug abusers. There is a high rate of drug abuse among bipolar sufferers because bipolar disorder is extremely hard to treat. It took me over a year to find the right drug for me, and there is still a chance that drug may crap out–I had found a drug that worked, but it crapped out in two months. It wasn’t until a month and a half ago did I finally start to feel better. Even then, as a bipolar sufferer, it is still every easy for me to sink back into a depression, even with meds.

    I almost fell prey to alcohol abuse at one point during my depression because my meds just weren’t working, and I had been on them for a month, so I turned to alcohol, which really was the only thing that could make me feel better, even if temporarily. My fiance even admitted at one point that he liked me drunk better than sober because I was, in a sense, back to who I was because of the alcohol. But I put a stop to it when I realized that it began making me more depressed, so it began to have the exact opposite effect than what I wanted it to do. I also have a co-worker who was a substance abuse victim who completely recovered. Turns out she had a severe form of OCD, which she didn’t know at the time, so she would pop pills to go completely out of her mind because she would have rather been that way than suffer from what OCD did to her. The media and television shows only show one side of substance abusers and makes them seem like people just looking for a thrill or people who make them look like monsters. Some are, some aren’t, but most substance abusers are your average, every day person you could see in the grocery store and wouldn’t know better.

    Cigarettes are a form of substance abuse. I smoked those until I began to feel better.

    Now I do differentiate between substance abuse victim and junkies. Substance abuse victims seek help, or are willing to seek help. Junkies are those who never acknowledge they have a problem, and so they never, ever recover, because, yes, I do believe there is only so much compassion one can give before you should just give them up to the criminal justice system, which will ensure these junkies are away from society and hopefully being weaned off the substance they abused. The stigma surrounding substance abusers is why they keep abusing the substance, because it’s a ‘damned-if-you-do, damned-if-you-don’t’ scenario. So if you’re going to be stigmatized anyway, whether or not you’ve recovered, you might as well keep doing it.

    My mental illness is stigmatized because of what it does to me, and people don’t understand that when you’re manic, you don’t really have control over your actions, especially if you’re so ridiculously high that it’s impossible to separate reality from fantasy. To stigmatize substance abusers is basically to stigmatized anyone with a mental illness, because, as I’ve said, most substance abusers do suffer from a mental illness, and stigmatization only leads to more substance abuse. The stigmatization surrounding mental illness is also why many don’t seek treatment because they don’t have understanding people in their lives, so they might as well do drugs to make themselves feel better. So do you understand how it’s a vicious cycle?

    Also, I do take extreme offense to the word ‘bum.’ The majority of the people who are homeless are homeless because they lost their jobs and can’t find another one, not because they just don’t want a job. The desire for a job exceeds the jobs available, so someone is going to have to be homeless, unfortunately, unless they’re privileged enough to have connections, be it parents or friends, who can help care for them until they can find a job. Or they’re not privileged to find anyone who can help. I will never become homeless because I have my parents around, should I lose my job and am having a difficult time finding another one. But if I didn’t have a family or friends, I would become homeless, and once you become homeless, you become entrenched in a cycle of damnation. Homeless shelters are often overcrowded, and you can only be there for a certain set amount of time. If you haven’t found a job yet, or somewhere else to stay, it’s bye-bye. And what’s even more hilarious is that a lot of these jobs want you to have an address and a car, and if you don’t have neither, what are you supposed to do? Go door-to-door begging for someone to take you to work everyday until you can afford a car? I suppose you can do that, but then minimum wage isn’t exactly what it used to be.

    There is a thing called the ‘cycle of poverty.’ It is a very interesting thing to research. Most children born into poverty often stay in poverty. It’s the exceptional individual who can rise out of it, but they didn’t rise out of it alone. They were lucky enough to find connections who could help them. My fiancé certainly was. Otherwise, he’d be homeless for a myriad of factors that aren’t his fault. Not at all. He had a crap upbringing, and if you don’t have the proper upbringing, there is little guarantee that you will get anywhere that you want to be in life, and statistics have shown this. For the record, his family was poor, so it’s not like he had a crap upbringing with a middle class family.

    It is NOT easy to find a job, even a minimum wage job. I sent out over fifty applications to minimum wage jobs, and only heard back from one place. One place, and it was an employment agency. The only reason they chose me is because my resume showed that I was a high-energy individual. And apparently the job they sent my application to is now very difficult to get, so I was lucky at the time because they were in desperate need. Now they’ve implemented a filtering system because it is such a high turnover job. Otherwise, I was apparently unqualified to do anything else, which I really thought was just a myth, until it was told to my face that I was unqualified, so why the hell would I be seeking a job at a local Japanese restaurant if I could do something better? Well, I couldn’t, because I needed a degree to do that something better! They were all internships, but they won’t hire you until you graduate.

    • rmactsc says:

      Thank you for sharing your comments. I believe that political correctness as practiced by many essentially de-stigmatizes many things; some of which would be better served by having stigma associated with them such as crime, deviant behaviors, entitlement mentalities taken to extremes, etc. I believe people are better off when they say what they mean when speaking and writing rather than making sure everything meets with what can only be described as political correctness gone wild.

  2. Totally agree and that’s despite having fitted into many of the above mentioned categories along lifes way. I survived and I learned and some of the not at all politically correct and at the time very offensive statements directed my way, also played a vital role in facing the truth and so working to turn life around and get it back on track. Political correctness is one of my pet irritations and your right it’s turning us into nation of wimps!

  3. Reboot1776 says:

    Political correctness just feeds the victim mentality. “Oh me, poor me, you’re offending me.” Grow a spine!

  4. Holli says:

    I couldn’t agree more. There are times when there are reasons for someone’s behavior (drugs due to mental illness on levels that would necessitate institutionalizing them or something), but that does not mean the person isn’t a junkie or insane. There are just reasons for that behavior.

    Labels help us to understand the world, and to describe behavior. If someone fornicates on a regular basis, they are a fornicator. It’s not a judgment…it’s a fact. If someone lies often, they are a liar. Again, not a judgment, but fact.

    We have to know how to describe life around us, who we want to associate with, and what actions we want to avoid to keep from being lairs, or whatever.

    If one is bi-polar, the label helps you to know what your are dealing with. If there were no word to describe your condition, you’d likely never be able to get help.

    I think that many just wan to hide from the reality of many labels because they don’t “feel” good.

    For instance, if I normally can cook a great meal, but then cook a crappy one, I failed. It’s not a character judgment. It doesn’t mean I can’t cook a good meal. It just means that one sucked.

    Internalizing our worth based on labels is why people run from them, IMHO. Which leads back to the assertion that we are wimps. That’s a label that fits the current condition of much of our country. 🙂

  5. I guess this means that we are to refer to ‘zombies as zombies, not the living challenged.’ Right?

Leave a Reply

