Don’t Answer The Door Post Apocalypse

Posted: December 29, 2013 in Preparedness
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Most people today think nothing of opening their doors to their homes in your typical suburban neighborhood when the doorbell rings or there is a knock at the door.  People assume it’s a neighbor, or a package delivery, etc, etc.  While it is still prudent to make sure you know who is at the front door before you open it; post apocalypse it takes on a whole different outlook.

In a post apocalyptic world; should there come a knock on your front door, of wherever you are calling home, do not answer it.  Why; similar to what happens in countries where wars are a common occurrance, once someone hears a homeowner respond to the knock from the other side of the door; they send some rapidly fired bullets through the door injuring or killing the occupant. Then they proceed to break in and take control of the home.

The same can apply when a homeowner looks through the peephole as it is fairly easy to tell, from the outside,when someone is using the peephole.  You can expect the lead to fly in the direction of the peephole once the potential attacker knows the homeowner is behind the door using the peephole for verification.  Post Apocalypse answering your front door presents a whole new series of challenges.

You can see all 5 of my post apocalyptic fiction books, 2 of my zombie fiction books and 1 of my horror fiction books on the left side of my blog page.  Go ahead; take a chance and purchase one or more over at Amazon.com.  They are really quite interesting to read if I do say so myself and they also make excellent gifts 🙂

DD2

Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Cold Dead Hands Days and commented:
    Obvious but worth re-stating…

  2. cb says:

    Just came over via a recommendation link @ http://survivingthezombieapocolypse.wordpress.com/2013/12/28/day-11/

    I am now following and will now begin my usual blog binge reading to get up to date.

    Cool and creepy house image.

    I will check out your books.

    cb

  3. cb says:

    Speaks to the desirability of security cams that’s are difficult to defeat.

  4. Reblogged this on crypticpunk [krip-tik] [puhngk] and commented:
    In the Suburbs, people never think twice about opening the door. If someone rings my doorbell in the middle of the night, I am holding my Beretta 92 when I go to answer it at a minimum. Or maybe my new UZI

    • rmactsc says:

      Thanks for the reblog. It all comes down to situational awaereness and knowing who and what is around you and what the potential consequences of a given action or inaction can be.

  5. TamrahJo says:

    I’ve used aggressive landscaping as part of my security – just can’t figure out how to successfully navigate the blackberry bramble and cactus I planted in front of my front door! LOL

Leave a Reply

