Keep A Survival Journal

Posted: February 5, 2014 in Survival
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

If you are anything like me you probably have tons of survival how to books in your library collection at home.  While these are great and informative resources; if you need to bug out you’re not going to be able to take them all with you.  Or if you shelter in place at home you may not have time, during a disaster, to search through these books looking for the how to information you need.  

The solution; keep a small, handwritten survival journal in your bug out bag.  Mine is a lined journal with a durable cover where I have listed all of the how to’s I might need in an emergency.  No commentary, no dribble; just all of the step by step how to information with a reference table of contents set up.  

If I can’t remember how many unscented bleach drops to add with an eyedropper to purify a certain amount of water, or how to start an emergency fire without matches, lighters or a firesteel; all of that step by step information is in there for quick reference along with lots of other survival how to information I might need.  

If you want to know how to do something; write it down and keep it in your survival journal.  Mine is set up with how to topics on water purification, food storage, fire starting methods, treating dehydration, hypothermia, hurricane preparedness, security and defense, etc.  If you haven’t set up your survival journal take the time to do so.  The information you keep close at hand may just end up saving your life someday.

You can see all 5 of my post apocalyptic fiction books, 2 of my zombie fiction books and 1 of my horror fiction books on the left side of my blog page.  Go ahead and purchase one or more over at Amazon.com. They are really quite interesting and entertaining to read if I do say so myself.

DD23

Comments
  1. Brittius says:

    Yes, and no. Maybe, if you do not have the experience or if others with you, lack experience. Maybe if you anticipate that you will be dead/missing/captured, but those left behind can use help. The others need to know exactly what is in the text and how to use it. They also need a mindset, to, use it.
    Downsides are, under stress, some people write thoughts. In the event of a capture situation, the intelligence value provided to an enemy, might be ruinous. I am Old School, and depend on my memory. What I have forgotten, at some point will return, or close to it enough to get the job done. Then I make sure that others with me, know something or how I do things. People complain that I bark and growl, but a few times in life, situations were, “All In”.
    Keep as much as possible in your head and have hands-on skill with it, so relatively little will need to be written and referenced. You might not have access to the texts, for a host of reasons.
    K.I.S.S.

  2. rmactsc says:

    Sensitive intelligence related details I would absolutely never journal; but basic how to stuff I find essential to journal. This would be the standard textbook type survival how to do things consolidated in one place. It’s amazing how when something isn’t done for long periods of time; how easy it becomes to forget 🙂

  3. I am one of those people who has a journal but never remembers to write in it. But then again, this isn’t survival time, is it?

    • rmactsc says:

      I tend to write down new survival related things I’ve learned or things that involve a lot of complex steps; as stress can produce forgetfulness. Sometimes when I flip through the journal I see entries I’ve made on topics I’ve forgotten were even there lol 🙂

  4. rmactsc says:

    Sounds like you could turn those into some really interesting books 🙂

Leave a Reply

