Re-Discovering Simplicity

Posted: March 18, 2014 in Commentary
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Sometimes sheer pleasure and enjoyment comes out of re-discovering simplicity.  For more years then I care to remember my handguns and everything related to them has been a mantra of semi automatic, semi automatic and semi automatic.  My son and I were in a gun shop not long ago and we came across a used 357 Magnum Taurus Model 66 revolver which I promptly purchased.  Imagine my surprise at having so much fun using a revolver for target shooting.  In fact I’ve added it to my rotation for carry gun purposes.  Just goes to show sometimes simplicity in firearms still makes perfect sense.  Now here’s to hoping I get that Ruger GP 100 from Santa this year 🙂

You can see all 5 of my post apocalyptic fiction books, 2 of my zombie fiction books and 1 of my horror fiction books on the left side of my blog page.  Go ahead and purchase one or more over at Amazon.com. They are really quite interesting and entertaining to read if I do say so myself.

Taurus_66

Comments
  1. Brittius says:

    Do you know how to Combat Reload a revolver?

    • rmactsc says:

      I’m mostly a semi auto guy these days but back in the day I remember being taught to open the cylinder with the weak hand and then reload with a speed loader. Is there a different method you recommend?

      • Brittius says:

        Yes, different. Two types of reload, a tactical reload, and a strategic reload.
        Strategic reload is for moving from one position of concealment/cover, to a different position. Prior to making the move, the revolver cylinder is opened. Only a partial lift with the cylinder star to get ammunition cases lifted slightly, so apply easy pressure on the cylinder rod. Remove any spent casing shells with your fingers. Reload those positions of the cylinder with fresh ammunition. Close the cylinder with your hand. Never, swing/snap a cylinder closed. You are now ready to make your move.
        Be aware of cylinder direction rotation, in the event that limited ammunition will cause partial loading of the cylinder. It is important to know this, should you need to manually index a round of ammunition to be the next round fired when the trigger is pulled and the cylinder goes into motion to battery a live round to fire.
        A tactical reload, is when the cylinder is out of ammunition and reloading is necessary. Depress the cylinder release thumbpiece. With the middle index finger and ring finger of the left hand push the cylinder into full open position, while the left thumb actuates the cylinder rod to smartly eject spent bullet casings while if possible, stretching over to your right side, and get the empty shells away from your feet. The right hand reaches for fresh ammunition. It could be a number of different methods, one is the speedloader. Either push button or rotating knob release type. It could also in some revolvers, be full moon clip, half moon clip, or double clip, it could also be ammunition dump pouch, 2×2 pouch, speed strip, cartridge loop, or loose bullets. The right hand will perform the reload of ammunition into the cylinder chamber bores, while the left hand remains positioned with the middle finger and ring finger through the top strap, the fingers securely holding the cylinder steady along with the left thumb. Once the cylinder is reloaded, close the cylinder with the left hand. Never, swing/snap a cylinder closed, as it has potential to bend the ejector rod and/or destroy the timing of the cylinder, possibly causing malfunction or complete failure of the revolver to fire. Once the cylinder is securely closed, usually an audible click will be heard and the cylinder is in a secured position in the frame and the revolver is ready to fire.
        Practice rapid tactical reloading by ejecting the spent shells while twisting your torso to the right, and while returning, the revolver is brought closer to the position of the ammunition to b e loaded.

      • rmactsc says:

        Good to know, thank you.

  2. I carry a revolver because of it’s simplicity. It has no safety either for the same reason. I know that if I’m ever in a situation where I have to pull my gun, I will be terrified. I don’t want to have to worry about whether I’ve turned the safety off, or whether I have a round in the chamber already. I just want to be able to aim and fire. That simplicity gives me more peace of mind.

Leave a Reply

