Handguns and Target Shooting

Posted: April 9, 2014 in Weapons
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

When target shooting with your handguns it is important to be accurate but it is also important to develop good and safe gun handling techniques.  No one technique is right for everyone.  There is no such thing as one method that is perfect.  If the method you use is safe and acccurate then stick with it.  If the barrel is pointed at the target and maintained reasonably wobble free; your shot placement will be good.  Sometimes I focus on the front sight which blurs the target and sometimes I focus on the target which blurs the front sight but I seem to shoot reasonably accurately both ways.

As an example of doing things unconventionally anyone who has seen me use a speedloader, in a revolver, will tell you I do it in a very unconventional way.  But it is a safe way and it works for me and is much faster than any of the so called conventional methods that people are generally taught these days.  The important thing is it works for me so I stick with it.  If your technique is safe and works for you then stick with it as well.

You can see all 5 of my post apocalyptic fiction books, 2 of my zombie fiction books and 1 of my horror fiction books on the left side of my blog page.  Go ahead and purchase one or more over at Amazon.com. They are really quite interesting and entertaining to read if I do say so myself.

Taurus627

 

Comments
  1. Brittius says:

    As a personal favor to me, please, with your index finger, point to different things in you home, except photographs of your family. Clock. Television. Thermostat. Aspirin bottle.
    Do this for about five minutes every day. After about three days of this, go to the gun range. Masking tape heavily, and sloppily, over the front sight, and over the rear sight.
    Combat load, and come to the ready position.
    Look at the target.
    Double tap.
    Double tap.
    Double tap.

    • rmactsc says:

      Perfectly willing to give that a try but I must ask why? I ask only because my shooting is pretty darn accurate as is. As always I appreciate any insights you have sir.

      • Brittius says:

        You will be conditioning your hand/eye coordination. It is also so that you are no dependent on sights or gimmicks, but your own skill. Your finger will instinctively point at any object, and the weapon becomes an extension of your arm. Street combat, was based off of the teachings of William Butler Hickok, and used in New York City and other police departments. There is a bit to it. In my first On-Duty shooting, the perpetrator exited his car after I rammed it, and he shot twice at me. I was exiting from behind the steering wheel, and got the service revolver unholstered and saw his face. He was holding the pistol, but I saw his face. I do not recall looking at my sights (S&W Model-10), but remember looking at his face as his second shot was fired and I returned one round of ammunition fired, subsequently striking the subject in the forehead. It was over in about one second flat. If I would have hesitated or missed, a third bullet from his weapon could have struck me. Distance was behind an open car door, he was T-boned and corkscrewed his way exiting out of the driver window. There are times when only skill, will need to be relied on, and not anything else. Not sights. Not grips. Not ammunition. Nothing. Granted, I have experience, and that is why practice should be, maybe your sights were damaged. Maybe you have no time. Maybe you need to look directly at the threat and not fiddle with grip. I also practiced without grips. Practiced with all different grips. Calibers. Ammunition configurations. I did shoot 400 rounds per day, seven days a week. It’s in me, and I love it. Always cleaning weapons, servicing holster leather. In three shootings On-Duty, eight rounds total fired. Eight hits. Seven subjects. Three incidents. I never could live with wild shots or missing and striking a third party. Too serious a matter. I read stories today, wild shots all over the place. About a pound of lead flying and only marginal hits. Horror stories. Things got out of hand. People relying on weak skills.

        Never point at photographs of family members because subconsciously you will be “green lighting” them, when they should be ingrained as “Never/VERBOTEN!” shoot.

    • Point and shoot, how I’ve taught all my family to shoot.
      OK across a street they’ll probably miss YET it’ll be close enough to make the bad guys take cover and that may give them time to seek cover of even DD out of there.

  2. rmactsc says:

    Very sound advice and I will give it a spin along with getting my range time in.

  3. Roger…I love your posts…especially the gun safety posts…ok, and the fiction posts, because I love the fiction! That said…Don’t know if you do these, but….

    I know you’re busy, but wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the “Wonderful Team Member Readership” award.

    I get that your blog is keeping you hopping, and there other things that you can be doing, but should you choose to accept this award, just pop over to this URL:

    http://musingsfromaworkaholic.com/2014/04/09/more-awards-dang-and-thanks/

    and do what I did.

    Thanks for keeping up with my blog, and I absolutely appreciate your reading me.

  4. Awesome advice from all! Thank you! 😀

Leave a Reply

