Share Your Home Defense Weapon Wisdom

Posted: June 15, 2014 in Weapons
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

With so many different home defense firearms choices; I’d be interested in knowing what specific firearm my readers are using for home defense purposes and why that particular firearm was selected.  I ask because I keep going back and forth between a Mossberg 590A1 shotgun for home defense, a S&W M&P45 semi auto handgun for home defense, or a Taurus Tracker 357 Magnum revolver for home defense.  It seems that on a fairly regular basis I’m routinely swapping out my primary home defense weapons thinking that I can gain that much more of an advantage in defensive capabilities by doing so.  With that said I’d like to see what others are doing in this regard.  

DD452

Comments
  1. mommyx4boys says:

    I would go with the shotgun, its safer if you have to use it indoors cause it wont go through walls like some other’s will, its pretty intimidating, and its very unlikely that you would miss your target.

    • rmactsc says:

      Good advice. I tend to change out my primary defensive weapons way too often and i think it’s because whichever one I choose for current use; I feel like there could be something better. Decisions, decisions 🙂

  2. onecrew says:

    My personal bedside gun is a Bersa Thunder 9, though I have a shotgun and some other weapons within easy reach. Like the 1911, the Bersa is a single-action semiauto, and can be safely left cocked and locked. Should an intruder break into my house, I can flip the safety off with my thumb as fast as my trigger finger can find its place. I used to keep my S&W 686 on my nightstand, but then I heard a story of a man who had a nightmare and pulled the hammer to half-cock before he woke up and realized what he was doing. Though the safety on my Bersa is easy to operate, it can’t be set off accidently.

    • rmactsc says:

      Good choice. For many years my carry gun was a Bersa Thunder 9 until I eventually switched to the S&W M&P45. Bersa makes a great gun at a reasonable price point and my experiences with Bersa firearms were always positive.

  3. It’s not too easy to operate a gun with paws lol but I do sport a very effective and very large set of Wolfie fangs 🙂 They work pretty well just bared and gleaming accompanied by a blood curdling snarl, and if it’s night time an evil pair of gleaming eyes flashing furiously in the darkness adds to the terror effect very nicely too! Basically developing the look of an angry werewolf defending people and property with a risk of going into beserk mode at any moment is at least as effective as a gun!! And as to my bite….words cannot describe the untold damage they can do when brought into full force action! 🙂 Hope that helps!!

  4. Missed this one the first time through. At our place… In each room, there is a weapon of some sort, out of the way, hidden from normal perusal, but accessible by family members. We don’t believe in “one gun” for home protection.

    In fact, my wife and I are armed. Handguns, rifles, shotguns, swords, bowie knifes, various sticks, clubs and other defensive weapons are available and close to hand when required.

    I’m a “stick guy” – sword fighter type, using sticks as weapons, as well as a cutlass, and secondary bowie knife in close quarters, and I do know how to use them.

    I can pick up a shortstaff (aka quarter staff) and use it quite efficiently in the dark in close quarters.

    Our hand guns are all 9mm. The rifles .223. Shotguns, 12 ga. Then there’s the old tricks of pulling rugs out from under bad guys on hardwood floors, hitting them in the face with flaming hairspray, cooking oil or the like, kitchen knives, hammers, and even a couple tomahawks. If all else fails I can fall back to the garage and use the chainsaw, ala Doom/Zombie style.

    /shrug

    To us, there is no “one way”.

Leave a Reply

